We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best of Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful evening overlooking the village of Banff, thanks to this restaurant. the service was terrific, the drinks were good as well. Then caesar salads, very good, some had soup they loved. The dinners were perfectly cooked with great presentation and vegetables to die for. elk steaks, fish and chicken was shared by us all and we were full. But we managed to have room for dessert which were home baked. Each night is different. Make reservations for this huge restaurant because it is busy and worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    375
    154
    48
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical tourist "high end" spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Despite a lot of empty tables, we were shuttled to the bar. The waiter only had one other couple to attend to, but still hardly paid any attention to us. I had the mussels and a salad, which were ok, but definitely not worth the price. My friend ordered the seafood platter- it was VERY expensive and far too much food for one person, which the waiter should have warned us about, but didn't. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice food, bit pricey. They take your card away and we had charges put on that we hadn't signed for. Although these were refunded when we noticed, a couple of days later after leaving Banff, I would advise caution!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We ate here every night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just loved this restaurant - there was an excellent choice of dishes and the food was beautifully prepared and served. We were only in banff for three nights and this place was so good, we ate there every night!!
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided to have lunch at Maple Leaf after bike riding the Legacy Trail. Ordered the East Coast Bison Donair. It was different. It had a sweet taste to it yet appealing. Also had the soup of the day. Enjoyed Both and would return to try other dishes. The atmosphere was good, not too loud .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing