We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A delicious dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My father and I started our trip to Banff off on the right foot with dinner at The Maple Leaf. The restaurant had been recommended to me by multiple friends and for good reason. The food and service were both great. My dad and I split the select greens salad. For entrees, my dad had the apple crusted pork tenderloin and I had the bison stroganoff. The apple flavor came through nicely in the sample bite of tenderloin my dad kindly offered me. The pork came served atop a round of mashed potatoes, broccoli rabe and roasted veggies. The bison was tender in its mix of paradelle pasta, spinach, and red peppers. I was happy that the sour cream came in a dollop on top and not mixed into a thick cream sauce, allowing me to determine how much cream I wanted mixed into the sauce. Chef's Jimmy's Crumble for dessert came out of the oven piping hot and spiced with cinnamon.

The restaurant 's ambience is perfect for its mountain setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGal2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    375
    154
    48
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The prices are a little high, but the ambiance and the food is simply stunning. We went there as a group (more than 10 people) and everybody were able to sit at the same big table facing each others. The wine selection is just too big, you actually have to go through dozen of pages of great wine. Some are cheaper and some are super expensive.

Overall this is one of the best restaurant I tried in Banff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MobileSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great service & fantastic 18oz Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the get go, we felt that we were welcome here!

It was busy, as it was St. Patrick's day, so most places turned us away because we had not made reservations.

We were seated in comfortable lounge chairs downstairs and as we really did not have a very large budget for a meal, we were surprised when the waitress offered orders to be split between each couple.

First we shared a fondue, which by the way, was more than enough food for the four of us. Each couple then shared a main course. Our friends had the bison strogonoff and we ordered the 18oz steak.

Everything was cooked to perfection! The steak was like butter... Would melt in your mouth.

The bill also came to about $83 per couple, which is what we normally pay at a Red Lobster for lower quality food and service!

We will definitely return again and again. Great value for money for any special occasion!

Get out there! Maple Leaf will not disappoint...

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
269 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“My best meal in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Every place I dined in Banff was good and this one was my winner as the best. They specialize in exotic or wild game meats and they deliver the goods when it comes to doing them well. I had eaten here before on my last visit two years ago. I returned to find that they are still delivering the goods in terms of quality and service. A bit pricey but to me it was worth it. I look forward to another great meal ther the next time I visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nine of recently enjoyed dinner at The maple Leaf in Banff. When we arrived, we were shown upstairs to a beautiful log room. We were seated at a round table, which is so much nicer than a long table. We had a cocktail and then ordered our meals. I had artic char, which was outstanding. Several folks ordered Bison and raved about their meal. A couple of folks had NY steaks and said it was good, but a little tough and chewy - go with the Artic Char it was spectacular. Couple of deserts for sharing including crumble which was very good. Serive through out our meal was very attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing