We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expensive but worth the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The prices are a little high, but the ambiance and the food is simply stunning. We went there as a group (more than 10 people) and everybody were able to sit at the same big table facing each others. The wine selection is just too big, you actually have to go through dozen of pages of great wine. Some are cheaper and some are super expensive.

Overall this is one of the best restaurant I tried in Banff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MobileSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    394
    159
    50
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great service & fantastic 18oz Steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the get go, we felt that we were welcome here!

It was busy, as it was St. Patrick's day, so most places turned us away because we had not made reservations.

We were seated in comfortable lounge chairs downstairs and as we really did not have a very large budget for a meal, we were surprised when the waitress offered orders to be split between each couple.

First we shared a fondue, which by the way, was more than enough food for the four of us. Each couple then shared a main course. Our friends had the bison strogonoff and we ordered the 18oz steak.

Everything was cooked to perfection! The steak was like butter... Would melt in your mouth.

The bill also came to about $83 per couple, which is what we normally pay at a Red Lobster for lower quality food and service!

We will definitely return again and again. Great value for money for any special occasion!

Get out there! Maple Leaf will not disappoint...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
297 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“My best meal in Banff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Every place I dined in Banff was good and this one was my winner as the best. They specialize in exotic or wild game meats and they deliver the goods when it comes to doing them well. I had eaten here before on my last visit two years ago. I returned to find that they are still delivering the goods in terms of quality and service. A bit pricey but to me it was worth it. I look forward to another great meal ther the next time I visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nine of recently enjoyed dinner at The maple Leaf in Banff. When we arrived, we were shown upstairs to a beautiful log room. We were seated at a round table, which is so much nicer than a long table. We had a cocktail and then ordered our meals. I had artic char, which was outstanding. Several folks ordered Bison and raved about their meal. A couple of folks had NY steaks and said it was good, but a little tough and chewy - go with the Artic Char it was spectacular. Couple of deserts for sharing including crumble which was very good. Serive through out our meal was very attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Maple Leaf says Canadian, thisplace is more international”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were shown upstairs to a beautiful log-line room. Stephanie our server was very organised also very polite. The food is outstanding, the wine selection good but on the pricey side. A really lovely experience and some of the best food we've eaten for a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emendyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing