We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal”
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We dined at The Maple Leaf on our last night in Banff. It was the perfect way to celebrate the end of a great week of skiing! The atmosphere was warm and inviting and the wait staff was very accommodating. We especially enjoyed the menu selection from appetizers, main courses to desserts. (The wine menu was excellent too!) Since we were visiting from Virginia, we especially enjoyed the local fare. The bison filet was amazing. Even though I usually pass on dessert, I'm glad I saved room for the maple walnut ice cream.

If you're in Banff and want a memorable dinner, The Maple Leaf is a great choice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoMauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    430
    169
    53
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Canadian cuisine? Not!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Called ahead and spoke with the manager who told us the meat and cheese platter was incredible after we inquired about it. We were extremely dissapointed. It was pre-sliced and had clearly been sitting in the fridge for an extended period of time. There was a crust on the cheese and the plate was cold to the touch, yet when we told our server she denied that it had been in the fridge and insisted everything was sliced to order. We were given three different types of cheese which were each about the size of sugar cube. The plate was not worth $30 and was insulting to Canadian cuisine. We continued on to their sister restaurant, The Bison, and were more than impressed with what they had to offer. It obviously wasn't the first time this had happened as the staff seemed used to hearing this about the Maple Leaf.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We went here over family day weekend and everything was to die for!! The cocktails were amazing, the scallops were perfect and entrees were cooked to perfection!! Dessert was great as well! Attentive server, very polite. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Canadian Cuisine”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although a bit on the pricey side, the food here is good and the atmosphere is warm. There is an excellent wine menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for breakfast and lunch.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been here for dinner in the past and it was excellent, but price wise, was on the steeper end. But for breakfast and lunch, the prices are very reasonable and the food is still amazing. Service is impeccable as well, overall just simply awesome. Thanks for everything, we'll be back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MY8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing