We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service”
Review of Masala

Masala
Ranked #28 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Creston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food was so good I didn't want my meal to end. Large portions, huge authentic selection with levels of spice and very very tasty. The waiters are very friendly and helpful. The place is on the smaller side but atmosphere was cozy. I will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Titannia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    148
    62
    22
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very special evening”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I enjoy Indian cuisine and have visited many Indian restaurants. We were in Banff at the time of our wedding anniversary so decided to celebrate at Masala. It was outstanding. We hadn't made a reservation (Monday evening in early June didn't seem like it would be a problem) but on arrival we were told that they just couldn't handle us because they had a group of 80 guests from India arriving at any minute! Our faces fell and we explained it was a special day for us. The waiter quickly decided that they would squeeze us in after all. We were a bit concerned that we might receive poor service since they would be so busy with the group. However, that was certainly not the case. Service was exemplary, the food was outstanding, we were given complimentary starters and dessert, and the owner took the time to come over to congratulate us. It was a wonderful meal and a very special evening. We will most definitely return when we are next in Banff. Oh, and by the way, the 80 Indian guests all seemed to really enjoy the food as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and best service ”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We live in town but this is the first time had food at masala.We had the best meal in town and best customer service ever in town.They had a big party in house even though they have accommodated us easily without causing us any trouble. We will definitely come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Visit if nothing else available”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Our visit the first time was a sorry story as the butter chicken was only masala the papad soaking in oil the mutter paneer totally full of floating oil
The manager was courteous and promised a better meal next time
Now in Banff as it is not much choice is available being a small place so after 3 days we decided to re visit Marsala
This time we met the manager and appraised him of our past experience he was offended
Any way we having no choice ordered chicken gravy Maya ki dal and aloo bondabonds for a change things were better
Next we ordered fruit salad as a dessert that was OK
Over all the place needs pulling up they are popular as there is no competIon
In case another Indian restaurant opens god help Marsala

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyrusshroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic East Indian Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went for Buffet lunch. Returning from Cave & Basin, we were running rather late, and phoned in at the restaurant, requesting for adjusting our family for the buffet lunch. We were accommodated despite being little over time, and then on top of the buffet, we ordered couple of additional preparations which were served without any hassles. Great authentic East Indian food - considering that our family is Foodie and we are from India. Good experience at the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amit_dhaumya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing