We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise”
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
Ranked #46 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

we don't usually go to conveyor belt sushi places but when we are tourists, we are more flexible. and I am glad we did. the sushi there were good and fresh. they also have some fried dishes. we esp. loved the scallop sushi and the fried calamari. tasty with reasonable price. it's not no cheap but the other Japanese ramen wasn't good at all and the other Canadian restaurants were too expensive. so this is a good one to enjoy some simple good sushi fast. we will definitely recommend this to our friends or will go back ourselves.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YCONWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    97
    28
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Sushi House Banff - Train cars carry the sushi”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stopped in for lunch. Its a small square bar with a train that goes around and you pick what you want off the train cars and eat it at the bar. Nice to see the food before you decide. Food was good. The plates are colored so you tell the price off the menu. Our lunch for 2 was 24 bucks, we were in and out really fast, I think we ate 5-6 dishes with no drinks.
The place is a dated and far from trendy, but we will probably be back, it was a quick and easy lunch we both enjoyed. Took a while to pay the bill, the cashier lady was nowhere to be found.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Sushi anyone ?”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Best sushi in town. Made right in front of you. Small place but unforgettable:) all dishes travel around on the train so it's convenient to grab them as they come. Also chef is always ready to take your order if what you like is not on the train at the moment. Must see!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Banff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Go around sushi, be smart, pick the fresh one, not the one sit there for hours.
Fresh & tasty. Small restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sushi lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Love the continuous supply of sushi on the train. The sushi chefs refill the train while you eat and you can order whatever you don't see. Order the yam roll off the board. It's not on the train so it's always fresh and hot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1421lem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing