We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choo Choo Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
Ranked #46 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Choo Choo Sushi”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I've eaten here. A lot. I've eaten raw stuff and cooked stuff. Drank beer and saki and lots of cola drinks, mostly cold. And a tsunami worth of tea, though I think it might have had a shell in it last time.

The Good: I like the beans, and the salt on them. I like all of the food, just not those weird eggy packets of sweet rice that kids seem to eat all the time. I don't get that. Kids can eat adult food. Eat the spicy Tuna. Eat the Tempura. Don't ask for Shabu Shabu, they don't have it.

The Bad: I told you: those weird eggy packets of sweet rice that kids seem to eat all the time. I don't get that.

The Ugly: nothing's ugly.

The Skinny: I like this place, I like the people and the service. I don't really like the guy at the end of the bar (probably a real estate agent or a cattle rustler) trying to impress everyone with his knowledge of Mexico ("Hey Pal, EVERYONE has been to Mexico).
Great Value.
Very, very fresh food.
Lines are quick and worth waiting in.
Always a smile from the chef and the hostess.
Price is decent for Banff standards and one of the best sushi places in that fair town.

For fun, speak like a burnt-out snowboarder while you're there. You look cool and kind of dim at the same time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    90
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this place if your looking for good sushis. The fish was really fresh and the rice well cooked. The atmosphere is friendly and cosy. The chef prepares the sushis in front of you which is very entertaining, plus, the plates are displayed on an actual little train which just adds some fun to the experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank belbetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice People Good Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We really enjoy coming here to eat. Food is good and the train brings around food continuously. You can have a quick meal or take your time. Not a lot of seats so you might have to wait when it gets busy but the sushi is worth it. You can get out of hand with so many dishes gliding by which could amount to a large bill so some may need to pay attention to this as well. No complaints.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajar_desde_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good Sushi”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you like Sushi you really must try this little place. Its only small and gets really busy so try to go early. We ate lunch there and arrived at 11.30am and the place was already nearly full. The chap makes the sushi up in front of you and drops onto the little train which takes it around the table.

Food was amazing - very, very fresh and tasty. And wasn't that expensive for Banff either. If like us you've had enough of burgers and fries then you really should give this a go. Great little place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30sHelpfulhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must if you like fresh sushi!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This restaurant is fabulous! Seating is limited, but the service is quick and the food is fabulous! Their are menu items to pick from, though most items are rotated on the train and requests are promptly made. Fun for the kids and the staff are wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OzGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing