We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious Sushi, and a fun experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
Ranked #46 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, and a fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant with a U shaped table where diners sit next to each other. In the centre of the U are the Sushi Chefs and around the U a train travels continuosly with its load of Sushi dishes on board......you take the dishes you want of the flat cars and the Chefs add new delights constantly....and if what you want is not there they will make it to order for you. Great service, really friendly staff and absolutely delicious sushi at good prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    77
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice place , good food, nice people and excellent service! We've really enjoyed being and eating there:) Being in Banff for two days we've been twice in there and really enjoyed!!

Helpful?
Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Been there number of time over last years. Good food, fresh, service is good but a little expansive.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tiny and Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place looks interesting. There is a train going around and around, the food is piled onto dishes, some covered in plastic domes and others not. They charge by the colour of the dish. If you look at the menu, the price of dishes start at $1.99. But the reality is the majority of food are on coloured dishes that cost $3.99 to $4.99. We had to order cheaper dishes. They also don't put everything on the menu on the train, so feel free to order from the chef if you want something not rolling around. The three of us ate $90 pretax of sushi. The kinds they had were average: but we liked the tempura best. I've had better sushi elsewhere. I would skip this and eat elsewhere unless you're really needing a sushi fix. Quite expensive for what you get. But then this is Banff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnoisseurGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very average Sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Worst Sushi I have had Staff making it were not wearing gloves. Staff friendly. Price high. Very hot inside this small restaurant when we were there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamiltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing