We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tasty meal and good beer choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
Ranked #23 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty meal and good beer choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

There is an extensive choice of beers here and we enjoyed a couple with our meal. The food was plentiful and tasty and the service was pleasant and efficient. Quite a busy place with a nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    327
    105
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming and warm pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Saturday, November 2, 2013
Lunch
We were in town for my friend’s 40th birthday. We were all in good spirits and looking forward to a good Irish Pub Fair for lunch. This pub did not disappoint. It had the great homey ambience that you expect from an Irish Pub. It would be perfect for lunch or dinner.
Our server was excellent. She didn’t miss a beat and took every one of our needs to heart. She had no trouble even when I asked that we split the bills and add a portion of the birthday girl’s to each of the rest of the attendees.
The food was good. We had a Whiskey Chicken, 1 sirloin boxty, 2 seafood boxties and 2 fish & chips. The average cost of a lunch entrée was about $15.
I believe each and every one of our party of 6 would happily go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a nice meal and drink here during our vacation in August. It was very busy so we sat at the bar. We had a nice visit with a couple from Austria seated next to us. The food was prepared well and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Popped in for afternoon drinks and a bite to eat. Service was painfully slow. Pub was no where near busy. Took ages to get a drink that we didn't bother to hang around to order food or another drink. Took just as long to get the check. Definitely not the positive experience that I have had in the past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stopped in here for dinner a beer and some great conversation, was not disappointed. Great venue, and good pub style pub in big serves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outbackrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing