We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Nacho & Great Barman.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
Ranked #19 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Nacho & Great Barman.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Guinness was scrumptious and so was the Nacho. Great, realistic Irish pub with a good menu of food and drinks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmac_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    370
    115
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good and hot food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stopped in to the pub during the off season. So service was very quick. We had the fish and chips and asparagus crab soup. Not sure where the crab was and it was very oily but it was still tasty. The battered fish was nice and hot. Good for a cold day. Probably go back but order something different next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishsiren74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find Smithwick's Irish red ale on the menu. The beef and barley soup was a hearty stick-to-your-ribs lunch that was a perfect finish to an autumn morning hike. The decor is very reminiscent of the pubs I've visited in Ireland and Northern Ireland. Staff were very pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ueejit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We got what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate here for the first time and enjoyed it so much we returned the following night. The brochure said that the decor was constructed in Ireland and, although a native could probably find a few faults, they have done a much better job than most Canadian "bar-pubs". Our first visit was on the Sunday night of a long weekend and the place was full. Still, service was attentive and friendly. The music was varied but stayed true to the Irish flavour. It was not too loud and the tell-tale sign of a good pub is that is full of conversation without people yelling and being obnoxious. We didn't see anyone that night who was just there to get drunk. My wife had the Thanksgiving Day special which she thoroughly enjoyed. I eagerly anticipated the Steak, Guinness, and Mushroom Pie. I love the combination of meat and puff-pastry and this did not disappoint. It was very flavourful with a perfect mix of beef and gravy (and, ladies and gentlemen, a meat pie is not supposed to be all meat, but rather full of subtle flavours). The next night was much less busy but the good service remained. The ribs were such that the meat melted off the bone and my order of Belfast nachos was absolutely huge and I couldn't finish it. Both of my food orders were priced at $16 which I thought was very fair for the amounts. The alcohol listing is very extensive with something for almost everyone. I tried, for the first time some authentic Ginger Beer which was wonderful. Good luck leaving room for dessert. Live music Thursday through Saturday night if you're into that, but it's too noisy for us.

Yes, it is pub food, but it's good pub food and they employed a separate person to bring out the food - a good idea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DontYouKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub in Banff, Alberta.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great delicious Irish pub food and a really nice virity of drinks. Good Irish music and atmosphere at this nicely well located pub in Banff, Alberta. Have the Yorkies, they are great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing