We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
Ranked #15 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here, and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere was fun, our waitress very pleasant, and the food and drinks were wonderful.

We'd have gone again had we not been on our way to our next leg on our trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    405
    124
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it first time, second try enormous disappointment!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The first dinner here on Thursday was exceptional. All my husband could talk about was going back for the happy hour they advertise on their website. Changed our plans Friday since it was the last night for happy hour. Arrived , were told they had limited servers so we couldn't have the table we wanted. Then ordered our beer and when confirmed the happy hour pricing were told that had been changed and only went through Wednesday. Server offered no compensation even after being shown website and neither did the manager.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Surprisingly authentic and attentive service”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a Brit, I don't have much time for phoney fake "pubs" that are scattered across north american strip malls. However, St. James Gate Irish Pub seems to have captured the real atmosphere of a pub - except for the smoke and drunks. The decor is dark, lots of old brass and my table wobbled, just like it would in Cork. The beer was nicely chilled in poured in clean glasses. I ordered the fish & chips... it was OK, not great. Frozen shoe string fries and not very crispy batter. The batter tasty and thin, and the fish was flaky, but it seemed like the oil might not have been hot enough. Service was excellent - I think it was the owner or manager who asked how the meal was. Will definitely eat here again when in Banff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrittyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We ate at St. James Gate based on recommendations from friends. They were not wrong. The atmosphere is great, the food is the best pub food we have eaten. Try the steak, guinness and mushroom pie, it was tender, mouthwatering and absolutely delicious. Really wanted to try the stuffed yorkies, a few orders went by us and they looked great. Will save this for our next visit. Get there early as this pub is extemely busy and fills up fast. Can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuffCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pub food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Typical Irish/English type pub food. the ribs were very spicey although the menu did not say they were spicey. The lamb pontine was a huge plate of french fries covered in a brown gravey with some small pieces of braised lamb. Nothing to get excited about. Banff restaurants are overpriced and quality average.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spudsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing