We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Korean food in Banff!”

Seoul Country Korean Restaurant
Ranked #97 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Korean food in Banff!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A nice simple setup here.

Great food. Really good meats. Service is succinct, efficient and fast. Good clean and pleasant ambiance. Food delivery time is good too - in spite of restaurant being close to full.

Will certainly come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    22
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service is back”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hi we have visited this restaurant every Christmas for the last four years and its been great the last 3, when I read the reviews this year I was worried and we nearly gave it a miss but decided to go on our last night , we had dumplings for starters, 3 barbecue choices for main food and service was EXCELLENT ! Value for money was really good too , plenty for 4 of us about $85 , we were offered extra sides, lettuce etc for no extra cost. thank goodness they seem to have worked out the problems they had earlier in the year , looking forward to coming back next winter

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCricketers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent value and great food. Very hospitable folks at Seoul Country made for a very enjoyable evening. The seafood BBQ was excellent - great array of mussels, shrimp, fish. Try the Japchae - it was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Open for business?”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Seoul Country is situated in the middle of Banff Avenue at the back end of the mall behind the Fudgery. The restaurant is able to provide simple, vibrant, and delicious meals that are reasonably priced. Evolving with the changing seasons, so too are your choices of Korean food. In the winter you can have comfort foods including soups, hot stone rice bowls, and warm dumplings. In the summer you can have cool and fresh foods including cold noodles. Of course all BBQ meats fit all seasons and are the highlight of every meal.

Unfortunately, service suffers and is very poor especially when owners are not present. You can expect to to be turned away when the restaurant has a tour group, it will often have the closed sign showing during peak times, and the doors locked even when the open sign is on. Don't count on being able to order a beer let alone a second one. The fight you will have with yourself is whether the food is that good that you can look past the poor service. Good luck with that...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for years, this as far as I know is the only Korean restaurant in Banff so we always go to it. This last long weekend we were turned away 3 times, the 4th time we actually came back and were able to get a table at 8:30 pm after we came back from the hot springs. The restaurant is really busy as they seem to only serve large groups of tourist from Asia. They had signs saying closed until 7:00 or 8:00 pm since they are too busy with the larger group. My complaint is why are they only serving people coming from Asia or from large tourist groups? What happen to locals and folks from Calgary? These are people that will keep coming when and if there is a downturn with the economy. We have been coming here for years and they have always been able to accommodate the big parties and walk-ins. Not sure why they can't do the same, perhaps they don't need the $$$? Business is too good? If not for my wife I wouldn't even bother going to this restaurant as it is not the most convenient and service is average at best. There are plenty of other restaurants in Banff that won't turn people away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seoul Country Korean Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Seoul Country Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing