We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #21 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Service was excellent,steaks were very good.Good exercise going down stairs to washroom,incentive to not carried away with drinks.Recommended by friends we were not disappointed,will recommend to friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for the review and recommendations. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    287
    111
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hang out with quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of the best hang out in Banff, nice place nice service with really good high quality food

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mistaya_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Very glad you enjoy coming into the Saltlik. We hope you come in and see us now that we are open again after our renovations. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true Banff Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We entered the Bar area with the intentions of finishing our Ski vacation with true Alberta beef meal. A lad on the Bruster buss mentioned that a restaurant in Banff won a food challenge.The Saltlik. The four of us wanted to end our getaway with a splash so we gave it a Go.The waitress that met us at the door was extremely Fun, Efficient and Confident. So too, that I felt that if I suggested the style of evening I wanted that she would not disappoint. She paired the Beef carpaccio for me with a beer (Nice) and the duck tacos with a different beer for my son, who shared the duck with my nephew! My buddy had different beers with his Onion soup and a Sirloin, he is a true Meat and potato guy who raved about the flavors. I like A crust on my steak and left her with that on her recommendation, it was Really tasty and perfectly cooked and came with a chipotle sauce. She brought out a lovely soft and ripe wine by the glass, we took the Btl for 2 which suited the meal really well (nice)! We finished with a lovely rich dessert that went well with the richness in the wine and a Blueberry Tea to Cleanse the palate.(nice)! The four of us still talk about the evening! (NICE)!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to make such a detailed review. This was so lovely to read and i will make sure the rest of our staff get to see it as well. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Superb Steak and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This restaurant was reminiscent of some of the better steak restaurants visited over the years in places like Texas. Service was first rate and the food of the highest quality. Steaks were cooked perfectly as was the accompanying side dishes.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StheBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your steak and service. We are always so pleased to show our staff reviews like this one.
Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed after so many good reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Saltlik was very disappointing after so many good reviews on Tripadvisor. Service was terrible, we were never offered to hang our heavy winter jackets and it took 15 minutes to have someone greet us and bring water to our table when the dinning room was only 75% full. Our food was very subpar for the price. The vegetables were overcooked to mush, and the steaks were overcooked. They were supposed to be medium rare; however, when they arrived they were cooked to medium, no longer pink and juicy on the inside. I question if the steaks were originally cooked properly and then sat under a heat lamp where they dried out because the service was so slow. After our bill was brought to the table we sat there for over 30 minutes before our server came to take our payment. At that point we were only one of four tables remaining and there was nobody in site, we didn't know whether we were supposed to go down to the bar and pay our bill or just remain at our table until someone appeared. It would have been very easy to get up and walk out of the restaurant; however, we are honest people and decided to sit and wait. This is very disappointing when your bill is over $150 before tip for two people. I know the price does not dictate fine dinning; however, it should not matter how much the bill is; good service should always be given if you want your customers to come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not to our standards at all. If you would be willing to contact us and tell us more about your dining experience. Please e mail banff@saltlik.com attn trip advisor review. We want to make sure we are always improving and fixing any issues we have.
Hope we hear more from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing