We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak house”
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #21 of 145 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Bunch of buddies visited recently. Steak pretty much all around. Was a very good quality, with lots of different choices. Not cheap, but very good. Highly recommend. service as attentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CollingwoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for writing such a good review! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    375
    152
    71
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
249 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went here for a late dinner after some meetings and as it was off-season in Banff, it wasn't real busy. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable with the menu and tried to pair the right food and wines with other food etc. We did get a couple of appies which were excellent and the salad was good as well.
All of our steaks were cooked to perfection and all of the family sides were delicious with plenty of food for us all.

All in all a great night out and one of my favorites in Banff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatkidfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Succulent”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went in for a steak on the recommendation of our hotel front desk and absolutely loved the place. They were professional, courteous, and friendly. They hung our jackets with smiles and witty banter, showed us to our table with the same, and provided wonderful table service all with the quick witted charm and humour we see in films yet rarely experience. Wonderful staff. The steaks were succulent as they were cooked to perfection. I had a bone in rib eye that literally shed its bone and JUMPED in my mouth it was so tasty...my girl said I ate it so fast I didn't take time to chew lol. Well it melted in my mouth :) this will be a regular stop for us when we go to Banff. Simply outstanding product and service door to door.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great place for great food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went more than ones for dinner and lunch to Saltlik in August 2013. The food and service were great.
Roel & Eveline

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riedijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us! We're very happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very busy restaurant with great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Saturday night in Banff is very busy with all the visitors looking to eat - and we went out without a reservation. Nevertheless they managed to find us a table and we were looked after very attentively by their waiter who upsold us some wine rather than the Argentina Malbec we were after . The food was great, but the wine was not as good as was suggested - the waiter was mortified and took it upon himself to make sure we had a desert course free of charge . We would happily return there and recommend the restaurant for the food , the atmosphere, and the service

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for the review and I'm very happy to hear you had such a fantastic time with us! If you could provide me with any more feedback as to how we could get to 5 stars I would very much appreciate it!

cbutler@saltlik.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing