We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great steak house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #19 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Bunch of buddies visited recently. Steak pretty much all around. Was a very good quality, with lots of different choices. Not cheap, but very good. Highly recommend. service as attentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CollingwoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for writing such a good review! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    331
    125
    61
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
238 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went here for a late dinner after some meetings and as it was off-season in Banff, it wasn't real busy. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable with the menu and tried to pair the right food and wines with other food etc. We did get a couple of appies which were excellent and the salad was good as well.
All of our steaks were cooked to perfection and all of the family sides were delicious with plenty of food for us all.

All in all a great night out and one of my favorites in Banff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatkidfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Succulent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went in for a steak on the recommendation of our hotel front desk and absolutely loved the place. They were professional, courteous, and friendly. They hung our jackets with smiles and witty banter, showed us to our table with the same, and provided wonderful table service all with the quick witted charm and humour we see in films yet rarely experience. Wonderful staff. The steaks were succulent as they were cooked to perfection. I had a bone in rib eye that literally shed its bone and JUMPED in my mouth it was so tasty...my girl said I ate it so fast I didn't take time to chew lol. Well it melted in my mouth :) this will be a regular stop for us when we go to Banff. Simply outstanding product and service door to door.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great place for great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went more than ones for dinner and lunch to Saltlik in August 2013. The food and service were great.
Roel & Eveline

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riedijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us! We're very happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“very busy restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Saturday night in Banff is very busy with all the visitors looking to eat - and we went out without a reservation. Nevertheless they managed to find us a table and we were looked after very attentively by their waiter who upsold us some wine rather than the Argentina Malbec we were after . The food was great, but the wine was not as good as was suggested - the waiter was mortified and took it upon himself to make sure we had a desert course free of charge . We would happily return there and recommend the restaurant for the food , the atmosphere, and the service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for the review and I'm very happy to hear you had such a fantastic time with us! If you could provide me with any more feedback as to how we could get to 5 stars I would very much appreciate it!

cbutler@saltlik.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing