We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“went oon the reccomendation of our bar man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #21 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“went oon the reccomendation of our bar man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went here one night on the reccomendation of our barman and were not dissapointed ... I have to say I enjoyed my steak and they are very big. We got a 1 side order of mini chips and one order of brocolli which concidering the size of the steak was loads. Wine in Canada can work out very dear but we ordered a bottle of local red wine which was nice The Waiter Mr Dunbar was really nice and friendly and filled us in on some local attractions. All in all the foood was very good I am not sure what the haters expect more from a humble steak but I have had many and this establishment's one was as good as any other place I have visited. There was a good buzz in the place and it is nicely decorated. Again like most places in North America the portions are huge so Europeans beware how much you order !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    287
    111
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We eat regularly at Saltlik on our trips. The steaks are legendary and huge. Downstairs offers a good, mixed menu and became our favourite place for this last trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelocity629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not much of a value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Touted by many as one of the best steakhouses in Banff... we were expecting much more. Service was adequate, but the food was, as the rating indicates, just average. Like many places in Canada, the menu was a la carte...and that always boosts the check price into the, "was it really worth it.." category.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdaveq33756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little over rated, or should I say alot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First thing I don't like dining in places where the servers think they are better than the customers. Secondly the restaurant was over priced considering the food was so-so. I think there are better options in Banff for Steak like Toro's or Melissa's( much better value).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsfancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not quite what I remembered but still satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I had visited this restaurant in 2007 and to this day, still dream about the dry ribs I had there...upon returning to banff this spring it was decided I MUST eat here. My mother had steak and I the ribs, our sides were brocolli and scalloped potatoes(a personal favorite) my ribs were, by far, the best ribs id ever eaten-you should try them! everything was sooo tasty and flavourful, my only complain would have been the sides being too small. Over all it was enjoyable and we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank young86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing