We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menu does not describe what is served” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #19 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Menu does not describe what is served”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very arrogant treatment following receipt of steak which was smothered in a hot BBQ sauce. This was not described on menu choice and simply over powered flavour of what could have been an excellent piece of steak. Problem was reported mid- meal but no attempt to remedy matters. No doubt hot spicy sauce is endeavour to increase drink sales. Why not smother every meal in a sauce irrespective of menu description or what a customer wants. I have taken business colleagues to Saltlik for over 10 years for at least 4 weeks per annum. There was no attempt to deal with the issue today. I will never give any further custom to the organisation. I would now recommend The Keg when in Banff.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry3Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    352
    137
    64
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
249 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“very nice service, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just stopped in for a quick bite on the way back to the ski hill.....wish we could have tried the restaurant, but ate in the lounge. Had a nice bottle of wine, shared a steak and the duck tacos. Tacos were different, and very tasty.

There was a new waitress, and although she did not necessarily know everything yet, was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatkidfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow, can't wait to go back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We walked out of the Keg (usually one of our fav's) after poor service to come here and we are so glad we did. I loved the family style sides, it allowed for a bit more variety. The steak was amazing!!!!! We had the sides of mushrooms and lobster mashed potatoes. There were large pieces of claw meat on top of the mash potatoes, they were so good. My husband was impressed with the beer selection on tap and I made my way through their martini menu, the ice wine martini was great!!! We shared their chocolate ganache cake which did not disappoint. I was also very impressed with the service. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

4 of us went here on New Years Day and a family of big steak eaters. This was for all of us the best steak we have ever had. The sides were to die for too but large portions so you don't need too many.

Cocktails were also amazing and great atmosphere upstairs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but could be great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

visited here a while back when i lived in banff. The downstairs area is perfect for lunch with friends, through upstairs is lovely for a formal dinner, however service could be better and the prices are a touch too much i think. Still a cracking place and well worth a visit!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing