We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #21 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went here after seeing the ad whilst at Sunshine - 8oz prime sirloin on Wednesdays for 15 bucks. The upstairs restaurant was closed due to a private function so sat in the bar downstairs which was really nice - spacious area, large screen tvs with sports showing. Happy hour till 7 - certain tap beers for 5 bucks. Steak was served with skinny fries and a delicious jus, good sized portion, served rare as requested, no complaints whatsoever. Other items on the menu were a little pricey but the portion sizes were good. Excellent value steak meal and beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    286
    111
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff were pleasant and helpful. I am gluten intolerant and they were able to provide me with options that allowed for a very enjoyable meal. The steak was done beautifully and I loved the maple butter squash.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonflyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey because of a la carte!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful spot to eat - food was good but not as great as I had hoped especially for the $$. We had six family members so it was a very pricey night and we didn't have much to drink or dessert. Great environment, good service but was hoping for outstanding steak since were in an Albertan steakhouse. Not sure if I would return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NB_NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Waiting time worth.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

After 1 1/2 hours waiting we went up stairs for a good dining experience. After ordering, they came back twice to let us know that we had to chose somthing else because a lack of food. Other than that the steaks were excellent as well as the service. There is no wine bottle under $41 an you need to pay for your sides.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food, okay service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've been a number of times and this is one of our favorite places to eat in Banff. We find the upstairs restaurant to have a warm feel and enjoy the ambience. The food is always excellent, but the service on our most recent visit was a little lacking. Our waiter mentioned he was losing his voice and we had a very difficult time hearing him, and that makes the ordering experience a little more challenging and to be candid a little more of a hassle than it should be. If you haven't eaten here before, plan on sharing side dishes, probably one for each two people, and don't really worry about saving room for dessert as they are pretty pedestrian. The stakes however are fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing