We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #19 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Edmundston, NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the food and the service. It was a very busy night so it was a little bit noisy. The service was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    359
    143
    66
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great calamari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stopped in for drinks and appetizers one evening. The ambiance is nice, the drinks were good and the calamari was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I have only had great meals here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the fourth time I have eaten here and it has been fantastic every time! Big portions of excellent cuts of beef, prepared to your liking. It is pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for. You order your choice of meat for you and then sides usually as a group. The sides are well prepared and very tasty. If you love meat, this is the place for you. They also accommodated my 3 kids under 5 very well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCelineSamZachZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food comes at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

chose this restaurant from a recommendation of a local shop keeper, and well, it was great. Food was cooked to perfection not too large portions.
Wine was after a bit of deliberation excellent - sorry it was Australian
starters shrimp , mains sea bass - excellent and a good size. rib-eye steak cooked to perfection, veggies etc where extra so beware, but are good sized portions. Coffee foc
Total $160 for 2

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tricky10765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I wanted to lick the plate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Dinner at Saltlik upstairs in the dining room, early on a Saturday night. The restaurant occupies two floors, with a spacious bar on the main floor and an equally spacious dining area all done in dark wood on the second level. We arrived at 6 pm, and the place wasn't very busy, so we got speedy service from a really great young waiter. No buns or bread, which we appreciated. My friend ordered the salmon, I chose the sea bass and we also added a side of scalloped potatoes as the mains come with veg. We also order a green salad to share. The food arrived quickly and we dug in to perfectly cooked fish dressed with a magical mix of herbs and flavoured oil. The salmon was served with fennel and my sea bass came with a tasty mix of baby yellow and red beets. The scalloped potatoes were very good. As I finished I said to my friend, "I'd like to lick the plate!" We didn't choose dessert because we were tight for time but the short menu didn't look all that exciting...the usual creme brulee and chocolate cake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gettingandspending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing