We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old style pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub

Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #40 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice old style pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited several times during our recent visit to Banff and never disappointed. Good selection of food and drink that was always spot on and daily specials that were great value. Staff friendly and generally a good pub atmosphere. Dark with lots of wood furniture that gives it the feel of an old English pub. Live music a bit hit & miss but otherwise a good place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AWA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    158
    58
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views of Banff & Yummy Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff on our honeymoon and had dinner at this restaurant. It is located upstairs, overlooking downtown Banff and the mountains. We both ordered burgers. I ordered the veggie burger, which was delicious, and my husband ordered the BBQ Bison burger, which he enjoyed as well. The service, though, wasn't the best we received while in Banff but, if you're looking for a yummy burger, we would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbatl0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun place with very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love the Rose and Crown! The atmosphere is cozy, the service is excellent and the food is very good. Love the Fish and Chips. Wme ake it a point to dine here each time we visit Banff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although we stayed in Canmore it was well worth the taxi ride to and from the Rose & Crown. The live music is always great (this last time they played heavier rock such as Metallica and Guns and Roses but I can't remember the name of the band). They were great guys though as they let 3 members of our group take pictures with their guitars. The service was excellent once again with wait staff always coming around at the right time. They were also very nice despite our dancing and posing on tables and chairs. Finally the people that go there are aged 30 and up so you don't have to worry about fights between hos and bros. Plus they are from all over the world and very interesting to talk to - if you are good with accents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“New Menu .... Not to be missed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every year we come to Banff and every year we come to the Rose and Crown, it's tradition! The menu has changed since our last visit but most certainly for the better.

The dishes are much more varied but very nice. The only thing I'd avoid is the pizza, if you want a decent pizza go to a proper pizza place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing