We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a Great Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub

Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #41 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although we stayed in Canmore it was well worth the taxi ride to and from the Rose & Crown. The live music is always great (this last time they played heavier rock such as Metallica and Guns and Roses but I can't remember the name of the band). They were great guys though as they let 3 members of our group take pictures with their guitars. The service was excellent once again with wait staff always coming around at the right time. They were also very nice despite our dancing and posing on tables and chairs. Finally the people that go there are aged 30 and up so you don't have to worry about fights between hos and bros. Plus they are from all over the world and very interesting to talk to - if you are good with accents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    189
    71
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New Menu .... Not to be missed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every year we come to Banff and every year we come to the Rose and Crown, it's tradition! The menu has changed since our last visit but most certainly for the better.

The dishes are much more varied but very nice. The only thing I'd avoid is the pizza, if you want a decent pizza go to a proper pizza place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French Onion Soup, a must try.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I ordered the pork tender lion sandwich and my wife ordered the club wrap. Both came with the unique, pastry topped, french onion soup which was delicious. I thought the wrap was better then my sandwich, but I should have expected that since the pork was breaded and deep fried. The food was good(the club wrap was awesome) but they were understaffed, only one server seemed to be waiting all the tables. However two more servers showed up part way through our meal and started helping out(I think they might have been the owners).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best nachos and Ceasars in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A random lucky find earlier this year and we've been back four times since. Every time we come to the mountains we go to the Rose & Crown for awesome oven-baked nachos and fantastic Ceasars! The server staff can also be very friendly and fun. Recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Through a doorway and up the stairs this place can be easily missed but with good deals on drinks and food this place should be tried for a comfortable, laid back and tasty pub food dinner. This is definitely not fine dining but after a day on the mountains a decent burger and fries with a local beer hits the spot. Popular with most age groups this place generally has a little buzz about it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McClusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing