We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Romantic meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Beaujolais - CLOSED

Le Beaujolais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

After spending a day of shopping in
Banff with my better half, it was a pleasure to sit down and enjoy the fine food at this establishment. The restaurant is on the second floor and has a great view of the area. The atmosphere was pleasant and quiet and the service was excellent. The Dover sole was nicely done and the veal was a real treat.The wine selection was fantastic. I look forward to visitng this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    52
    34
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oh oh dear ..,,,,,,,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I am not usually prone to over dramatic reviews but am increasingly frustrated by the appalling food I am
paying for in this resort.
This dated restaurant had a menu with plenty of inviting options ., however the reality was much less interesting.
Two lobster bisques lacked the depth and flavour ( not to mention being lukewarm) that makes this soup worthwhile . Silver service offering did not make up for pale commercial baguette .
Another starter of bone marrow had to be sent back as the marrow was pink and liquid .
A Dover sole ceremoniously arrived table side In a state of advanced rigour mortis and minus head and tail ( so why the ceremony ? ) surrounded by too many sautéed mushrooms and flabby carrot and mange tout . The crowning glory was half a lemon which had being cut some hours / days before as it was dried up and unpleasant .Our guest managed to mange rien and called the manager who was apologetic but had no answers .
The other main course which warrants mention was a strange looking 1.5 cm thick filet mignon ...
The manager removed charges for these dishes which was fair but still does not deal with the problem at this restaurant .....the cooking is appalling .
The wine was delicious .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank naomieliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was one of the best French restaurants I have taste. The service was great and my rib eye steak was cook to the way I like it. The atmosphere was great. Would go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We had the 6 course surprise meal and i have to say it was the most creative, full of flavor, and well worth the price meal I have ever experienced!! The service was top notch and a beautiful view beside the mountains. The wine selection was incredible! We recommend this restaurant for a romantic supper in Banff !!

Helpful?
Thank Cnceagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Banff's best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent a delightful evening in this great Banff restaurant. We were spoiled by a delicious 3-course dinner and Elly, our waitress took great care of us. We can highly recommend the Beaujolais restaurant and are looking forward to our next visit, L&P

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing