We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais - CLOSED

Le Beaujolais
Price range: $22 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic night with friends! Great wine selection and food was perfect! A special mention to our server Tallulah from Australia, she was fantastic! A must if you are visiting Banff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    52
    34
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, view marred”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a family dinner at Le Beaujolais Sat. Aug 31. We've planned it for months as we figured our kids were old enough now to appreciate fine dining. Before kids, eating here was a very special treat. It's been years now since we visited and I worried we might be underdressed in jackets and ties and cocktail dresses.

We were the first guest seated at 6:15. The restaurant was elegantly appointed as I remembered, white linens, delicate rose centre-peices. We were seated at a table facing Banff Avenue but all the curtains were opened and there were spectacular views of the mountains in two directions.

My husband and I ordered the 3 course special with Chateaubriand as the main dish. It was delicious. The beef was cooked exactly right and carved for us at the table. Wonderful. The kids started by sharing the scallop appetizer and then one had duck and the other lamb. Neither was disappointed and both were thrilled when our server Talloula lifted the silver plate covers revealing their entrees. The service was attentive and helpful, making great suggestions to ensure that all four of us finished about the same time etc. Really top notch. The deserts were excellent too. All in all it should have been a perfect meal. The only flaw was that the other guests were dressed so shabbily: cargo shorts, jeans, fleece hoodies, really? Really? There used to be a dress code here years ago. Certainly, diners that can afford the excellent food and service of Le Beaujolais should have enough wherewithal to change first, rather than end their hike here. That was very disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Superb food and special personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was the best restaurant of our five-day Banff vacation. We were greeted warmly by Sandro and served attentively by Mayuko, who is also a certified sommelier. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. To start, I had Atlantic lobster salad while my husband had lobster bisque, both excellent. I had another appetizer for my entree -- sea scallops and scampi tails -- and the two together were a bit too much food but both superbly cooked and presented. My husband's elk osso bucco was also a generous portion and also delicious. The tables are set formally with linen table cloths, linen serviettes and flowers. A special treat is the very visible presence of Albert, the owner and himself a Swiss-trained chef, who visits with the guests, sometimes pours the wine and even occasionally clears the dishes. You feel like a honored guest in a great chef's home. Altogether, a delightful and quietly elegant evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
351 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice restarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dinner on a quiet Saturday evening. Trio of salmon was quite good, and the elk osso bucco a nice surprise. Modestly priced wines. Excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Canadian fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fine dining in every country is different. In Banff we were recommended to dine here. The decor was alright, linen table cloths and serviette. Table setting was good, knives and forks properly laid according to your order. Wine list was good, menu was good, service was excellent. The salmon entree was exquisite. Main dish duck was beautifully done, except it had too much lentil that sucked out all the jus. The elk was most interesting. The main meal plate was huge(for European point of view for fine dining), I guess that would please a lot of people.
Price was alright.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing