We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Beaujolais - CLOSED

Le Beaujolais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food and memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family of cousins met in Banff for a visiting weekend. We hadn't seen each other since our Grandmother passed. It was a very special weekend to get reacquainted and just enjoy each other's company. The restaurant was suggested to us by the concierge in our hotel and it was perfect. We arrived at 7:00 and we left at 11:00 - what a night of eating, chatting and nice wine. The food was so amazing, the prices were extraordinary for the quality of service and food. My cousin had the 6 course surprise dinner and we all enjoyed seeing what she was getting and she was very satisfied with the choices. The Professional Waiter (from Waterloo ONT. :)) was really the icing on the cake. He made the evening that much more special with his excellent suggestions, funny comments and just overall amazing service. Thank you to all who made the evening so wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    52
    34
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A True Taste of France in Banff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Le Beaujolais is my favourite restaurant in Banff for a fine dining experience. Not only is the food fantastic but the service is truly superb. The atmosphere is quiet and conducive to conversation. We never feel rushed although by European standards it would still be considered a little too quick (1.5 hrs from aperitif to dessert). Our only quibble was that the wine was overpriced, even by Banff standards. They do a great job of presentation and make sure your table's meals come out together and remove the domed covers at the exact same time. The steak tartare was delicious as were our mains of AAASteak and Filet Mignon. The caramelized pear with fleur de sel and caramel icecream must be tasted to be believed. The quality of the food and the service made us feel like we were back in France.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A celebration for the senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to the Beaujolais to celebrate our wedding anniversary, ....and what a celebration it was! We ordered the six course surprise menue and were in awe with every single course. Service, presentation, creativity, choice of ingredients, flavours were all outstanding. Every course was splendidly paired with a complementing wine. All in all a true celebration for the senses!!!

Eva and Paul Sylvestre
Nature in Focus Hiking Co.
Banff, AB

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBanff_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Le Beaujolais was great but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We showed up for out 9PM reservation on a Friday night. We ordered a couple martinis and the foie gras appetizer. The appetizer was easily the highlight of the meal. For our main course we ordered the duck breast and an Alberta New York strip. Duck was above and beyond our expectations. However, the chef totally missed it on the steak. It was overcooked and the sides were below average on this dish. I informed the server of this, and it was immediately taken care of. If I had to do it over again I would have gotten the six course surprise meal. We saw other people being served and the meal looked amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My first visit to "The Beauj" (as I've learned the locals call it) was back in 2004. There again today I enjoyed a great atmosmosphere, wonderful staff and fantastic quality for money spent. It's easy to spend 30+ at for a plate at any given restaurant these days, but hard to find food AND service that live up to the money speant. As a wine lover, the wine list made me feel warm and fuzzy inside. The 2001 Ch. Musar was a offered at a better than great price and I was all over it. Having a drink with the owner at the end of the night was an added bonus! Thanks Beaujolais!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing