We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced place that time left behind”

Grizzly House Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced place that time left behind”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We attended this establishment on a Saturday, with a female handicap client in a wheelchair. We found the only handicap friendly bathroom stall was in the men's room. How this place remains to stay open without access for handicap washrooms is a mystery.
When it came to ordering food, the wild game meatloaf looked good, until we inquired of the ingredients, to be told it had onions in it. Ditto with the burgers, onion powder in the mix. The hot stone lunch comes with garlic butter. A chef friend once told me if all the items have onions or garlic in them, they are most likely trying to hide their lack of flavor, or an uncreative cook is working there. Narrowing our choices down to cook it your own sirloin on a hot rock, substituting real butter for garlic butter, it took forever for our order to arrive. If we are cooking it ourselves, what took so long. When it arrived, our meat was dripping blood in to the glorified shredded hash browns in my wife's plate, and the salad in my plate. My wife likes her meat well done. By the time it takes to make it well done, the stone was losing it's heat. So were the hash browns.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutwestCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    513
    223
    98
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for groups and meat lovers!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great for groups and meat lovers. Great decoration and atmosphere. The hot stones were a big hit and the staff was friendly and attentive. The vegetable fondue (starter) was very tasty. Not very vegetarian friendly, the only vegetarian main course is only available if you order for 2 persons.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yara88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great day for a Fondue”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Drizzly and cold, what better way to spend an hour or so....a wonderful cheese fondue. We would have liked to stay longer for a hot stone experience, but we were on limited time and staff were accommodating. We accompanied the fondue with a delicious Chardonnay selected from their huge range of wines. A couple nearby told us they had been nearly every day during their visit to Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot Stone Lunch!!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great to way lunch, they bring you a "hot stone" and you get to cook your own pieces of meat on it as you want them, (great if you are having a conversation while eating as the food never gets cold). The pieces of beef and pork that I had were good quality and salad was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Managed to get a late booking when we dropped in the evening before. When we arrived the table wasnt vacant so the management provided us with free drinks, perfect for our large party out to enjoy ourselves.

Never having eaten fondue this was a fun experience. The restaurant is a little dark but when you enter the smell just makes you even hungrier. I had the french onion soup to start which was delish followed by the cheese fondue to share across our large table. Followed by the seafood platter with huge King Prawns and scallops, followed by chocolate fondue.

Overall a fantastic experience and a really enjoyable night. Service was excellent. Its not a cheap place to eat but its worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLoverStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing