We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Swiss, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was told when I visited Banff that I had to try this restaurant; it did not disappoint. I had the Alberta fondue platter on a hot rock (instead of oil) and it was delicious. The meats were delicious morsels and the waiter made sure to check that the rock was still hot enough to cook on. There was also a nice selection of craft beers to choose from. The telephones are the tables make for a nice gimmick (you can call other table) and I wish the restaurant had been busier (it was early in the evening on a Tuesday) so I could play around with other tables. The food wasn't cheap though! This is definitely not something that I could do often, but if you want a good meal in Banff and are willing to splurge, this restaurant is probably right for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    466
    200
    93
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went for the first time a couple of years ago, and it did not dissapoint! Neat atmosphere, very rustic! We ordered the 4 course meal, which starts out with soup or salad. We both had the salad and they were awesome. Next came the bread and cheese fondue - delicious and almost filled me up! Next up was the meat. We chose hot rocks so it wouldnt be as oily. My boyfriend had the steak and lobster and he said it was fantastic. I had the hunters dinner, which was buffalo, venison and wild boar. Every bite was so tasty. I dont know how we managed to save enough room for the chocolate fondue for dessert but somehow we scarfed it all down! it was that good. When we left we stunk like a deep fryer and practically had to waddle back to our hotel but it was worth it. Next time we go I would really like to try the exotic meats. How neat would it be to say that you have tried rattlesnake, shark and kangaroo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fondue Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great little place in Banff for a fun dinner out. Not stuffy, so dress casual. Beware that EVERYTHING you wear will stink like fondue oil so wear a spare jacket. The hot rock is delicious and if you feel adventurous the exotic fondue is a hit. Telephones on the walls let you call other tables to chat which we had fun with. Overall reliably good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not what you expect from the outside appearance but definitely worth the gamble. I would recommend trying the exotic fondue option. The whole experience was memorable, what stands out is the unique food and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A definite experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ordered the full, four course meal. We ordered the Alberta, which actually isn't listed on the menu. The cheese fondue really wasn't our favourite, as the wine flavour was quite strong and wasn't really our thing. The meat itself was delicious, and we had a great time cooking it up (even if we stunk when we left from the smoke). The chocolate fondue was also great. We would gladly go back again, but I think that next time we will just skip the 4 course and go with the meat and the chocolate, and just order side salads to start.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing