We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”
Review of Eden

Eden
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Oct-May 6pm-9pm Wed-Sun June-Sept 6pm-9:30pm Daily Please check reservation for availability.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This restaurant has the calibre of a two michelin stars place. The service was amazing, incredible attentive and everything was done in the right time. They were very aware of dietary requirements and did their best to accommodate. The food was absolutely delicious. Very well prepare dishes with an excellent presentation.

Completely recommend this place without a doubt!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mariacaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for the outstanding review. Always a pleasure to see our serving staff ensure dietary requirements were meet and accommodated without any flaws and the service and food was impeccable. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 514 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

First, let me tell you about who I am. I have spent 27 years travelling the world on behalf of some of the largest companies within the computer industry. I lived for 33 years in Europe. I have had the opportunity to experience some of the finest restaurants in the world. My wife and I decided to celebrate our 30th anniversary at Eden. Now to the review:

Eden is a restaurant who does not serve food as such but rather art made up as food reminiscent of “Nouvelle Cuisine”. Clearly there are many reviewers here who still believe that the “Nouvelle Cuisine” movement 'is still the definition of “fine dining”.

However, Nouvelle Cuisine is now largely discredited as a 1970's passing fad. Today's thinking is that a person goes to a restaurant to have a meal - not to observe the cute presentation of a 1 inch cube of something with a green sprig and a swipe of cassis on the plate. Bottom line, to quote Gorden Ramsey, “it's about the food”. Yet, you will receive more real food from an economy airline than from Eden. For this pleasure they charge you $90.00 for a 3 course “meal”. Yes, I'm not exaggerating …. it really is that extreme. They will however fill you up with bread – they only thing which they serve generously.

We chose to order a bottle of wine off the wine list, preferring to not take up their wine pairing. Our selected wine was charged out at $80 in Eden. Quite enough in my opinion. Upon our return home we discovered our $80 bottle sells for $12. Applying a mark up of 5 – 6 multiplier is a disgrace. It screams disrespect for the customer.

When you discuss your experiences with the management at the Rimrock they subtly infer that if you do not appreciate their “food”, then really it is you who must be at fault and not the restaurant. Indeed the regular suggestion within these reviews is that perhaps those who have rated the Eden badly be better served eating at their casual Primrose restaurant. This is their little way of patronising those who disagree with their view of what constitutes good food and good wine. Essentially it is the customer who is at fault.

The Rimrock management defend their performance at Eden by referencing their AAA “Five Diamonds” award. Let's put this into context. Eden does not feature within the top 50 restaurants of Canada as researched by Vacay.ca. It also does not not feature in the top 50 restaurants as researched by McCleans.ca magazine. The AAA evaluates an establishment on more that just it's food. It looks at parking, décor, location, rooms, dress of staff etc.

Restaurants which do feature in the top 50 and where I have eaten many times are for example The River Cafe, Princess Island, Calgary and Notable's, Calgary.

The management of the Rimrock and Eden appear to have lost sight of the reality that these outstanding restaurants can comfortably deliver an outstanding personal experience and a very satisfying meal for a fair price.

Now to the service. Just like their food, they have lost sight of what it really is all about. The result is, it is more about a show. As if caught in an 1850's time wrap the Maitre'D and his staff go through a servile, obsequious routine of fawning over their customers like they are British Royalty, yet remaining aloof and not engaging in a relationship. Their robotic delivery of the plate made us feel like they were bored, fed up, and we were unwelcome guests.

Indeed it is the patronising attitude from the Maitre'D specifically which characterises the whole experience. When my wife and I quietly and politely questioned the Maitre'D over the poor quality of the meal, he immediately became aggressive and defensive. He walked away from our table without explanation not once, but twice. It occurred to us, that the Maitre'D himself may be a key element in the whole problem.

So, summing up, when you book a spot at Eden's come equipped with hundreds of $$ for cheap wine and a very, very small appetite, or give it a miss all together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
14  Thank vincej1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

During your stay you made it very clear to many staff and guests that you did not enjoy Eden. We did have an opportunity to meet with you the following day and listen to how much you disliked Eden and that your expectation are that we make changes in Eden to meet your vision prior to your next visit. We truly do want everyone to enjoy their experience in Eden and we work very hard with a team of young dedicated professionals who are passionate about providing a great experience. Your table received a very high level of food and service, it was unfortunate that this was not to your liking. Because you did not enjoy your experience we kindly extended the meal and alcohol free of charge.

It is important that the readership of Trip Advisor have a clear understanding when such a review is submitted. From the beginning of the evening it was apparent that Eden was not what these diners were expecting. We did try to work with them to understand what we could do to make their night more enjoyable but we were unsuccessful in our attempts. We have accepted the fact that they did not care for Eden but what we and the other diners take offense to was the disruptive engagement of other diners that they thought fitting to share their opinions with. We did make amends and apologised to the other diners whose experience was unfortunately marred. We do anticipate the readership will see from the many positive reviews that Eden is a great dining room and this reviewer simply prefers other styles of dining. It says a lot about this reviewer that he states that the positive reviews Eden receives come from diners who are unaware of what a good dining experience is and that they do not have his worldly dining experience. It is unfortunate we have lost this reviewer as a future guest of the Rimrock, we hope they are able to find a more suitable hotel and restaurant that meet their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were staying at the Rimrock and decided to fine at Eden based on the reviews we had read online. We opted for the Grand Degustation - a 10 course, 5.5 hour experience with the Eden wine pairing. Let me say I have eaten at dozens of 5 star restaurants around the world and done more tasting menus than I can count and this meal was absolutely world class. Every element was spot on, from incredible and creative courses, fantastic and personalized service and the wonderful mountain views. The wine pairing was one of the best I have ever had and the elk main course was particularly stupendous. Eden is the perfect location to splurge on a special dinner and is absolutely worth every penny. Highly recommended!

Thank leafhascats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

We really appreciate the fabulous review. Great choice by choosing the Grand Degustation menu, always one of our guest's favorite for the great selection, multiple courses and extended wine pairings. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have to give these folks five stars on service they really know how to take care of you! The menu is a little confusing but the staff puts it all into perspective for you. The food is scrumptious and the wine selection is pretty darn delicious as well.

1  Thank samasvestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for the great review, our experienced Eden serving staff always ensures the menu is explained to each guests and provide information and suggestions for your wine selection. Thank you for sharing your great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rimrock and dined at Eden to kick off the indulgent and relaxing second half of our honeymoon. After researching restaurants in the area, I knew this was going to be our big splurge. I made reservations in advance so we could have a mountain view table, and highly recommend doing that - the views were stellar. This entire experience was filled with extras and surprises, and made us feel so well taken care of, both by the service and the food. We ordered the three course tasting menu with basic wine pairings, and it was wonderful. With extra courses and treats throughout, we felt like we got a seven course meal. The presentation was beautiful, both on the plate and at the table (think soup poured over a beautiful cauliflower display, and dry ice billowing out of a petit fours plate). The combination of colors, textures, and preparations on each plate made for such a unique and delicious sensory experience. This meal was absolutely with the price, I wish we could go back to celebrate every special occasion!

Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

We really appreciate the great review, always a pleasure to see our Eden team made your dining experience one to remember. Indeed Eden has some of the best dish presentation and taste, accompanied by a very selective wine pairing from our sommeliers on staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing