We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”
Review of Eden

Eden
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Oct-May 6pm-9pm Wed-Sun June-Sept 6pm-9:30pm Daily Please check reservation for availability.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The price is well worth it, the food especially any kind of seafood was
Out if this world....we had the grand degustation experience , go with an empty stomach!!

Helpful?
Thank epicurious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We appreciate the great review, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    43
    14
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty Tasting”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited Eden at the Rimrock while staying in Banff and had the Chef's tasting menu. An incredible amount of work went into preparing some amazing food, my favourite was the main course of Elk. The pace and balance of the courses was excellent.

The service from the waiting staff was exceptional and not at all stuffy as can be the case in some high end restaurants. The staff were highly professional, but also enjoyed a joke and got to know their customers. The tables are big and well spaced out and it appears there is only one sitting per table per evening - so no rush to clear the table.

Unfortunately, I was driving so couldn't sample the wine pairings. From the wine presentations I heard to other tables, the sommelier knew his stuff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for posting this great review. We hope you get to enjoy the wine pairing provided by our highly skilled wine sommeliers on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Food and Service exceptional”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We made a reservation for 4 and once we were seated needed to add another 2 people. The staff seamlessly added another table, chairs etc to our table and even brought a portable steam iron to ensure the table cloth was perfect.
From start to finish the service was exemplary. They could not do enough for us and no matter what we asked for they went out of their way to ensure we were completely satisfied.
I had the foie gras and the pheasant and both were excellent. Everyone raved about their food.
There is no doubt why they are a 5 star restaurant and for the food and service I think you get excellent value. Expensive yes but worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review, always a pleasure to see our Eden team made your evening special and memorable. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was my 8th visit to the Eden Room. As always, we do the Chef's tasting meal and, as always, it never disappoints. Robert is such a skilled sommelier. The service is faultless, and the food just keeps getting better. Yes, it is expensive and yes, worth every penny. There is a reason it is the only remaining 5-star restaurant in Alberta and why it is ranked 1 of of 144 restaurants in Banff. If you are in Banff, you must have this experience! I will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Great review, thank you for sharing your experience. Indeed Eden is ranked #1 restaurant in Banff on trip advisor. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Rimrock as part of our honeymoon trip and booked a table at the Eden for a special dinner. It really was. We chose the 4 courses and Eden wine pairing. Every course was delicious and the wine matched perfectly. We were able to take our time over the meal and at no point felt rushed by staff. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and informative without being stuffy especially our sommelier (a female, sorry we didn't get your name) and we were made to feel very special. As we were leaving we were given cake as a gift. Worth every penny. An experience that will live long in our memories.

Helpful?
Thank ellsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Eden, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review. We are very happy our Eden team made for a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing