We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unbelievable and incomparable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden

Eden
Reserve with OpenTable
Eden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Oct-May 6pm-9pm Wed-Sun June-Sept 6pm-9:30pm Daily Please check reservation for availability.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable and incomparable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place sets a new standard in fine dining. Everything about this place - the service, the ambiance, and of course the food - will make every other dining experience you have had seem dull by comparison. These people are incredibly passionate about what they do and it shows.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shifttabctrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    41
    12
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Eden is a restaurant that you should experience at least once in your life. My wife and I choose to experience it once or twice a year! Combine an amazing staff with a fantastic chef and a wine selection that is to die for and you get Eden. Sitting on the edge of a mountain in Banff National Park is really the finishing touch. We always enjoy the chef's menu with the wine pairing. A great way to experience new tastes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this restaurant for a special celebration dinner. Some elements of the dinner were very good but there were many misses. We both chose the four course menu with wine pairing. Service was uneven which is not expected of a restaurant of this calibre. The first course "A Potato Salad" was excellent, well-conceived and executed. However the other first course "Crab and Carrot" was boring and fishy. Both entrees, bison tenderloin and duck, were delicious. The cheese course was fine but ordinary. The "Chocolate Landscape" dessert was not memorable.
The greatest disappointment of the evening was the wine pairing. The Eden restaurant advertises itself as a five-diamond restaurant yet served everyday wine in their wine pairing. We like Sandhill Merlot but with a bison tenderloin - really? This is a wine more appropriate for a casual week-night dinner. If the price point for the wine pairing is so low that they cannot serve wine appropriately matched to the food they should either raise the price or not do the pairing at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Amazing experience...I have never had such a beautiful dinner with the most amazing drinks to go with it! Spoil yourself and go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top Notch Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my first visit to Eden Restaurant. I'm a huge fan this is fine dining on a word class level. The greater was friendly and had a sense of humour as did the staff. No one is stuck up or pretentious. The drink server wasn't top notch she needs some lessons on wine. We loved the views it all went off without a hitch. This isn't a fancy steak restaurant it's fine dining European style. I think the wine pairing could be a good idea but I think you will miss out on all the wonderful food flavours. The Potato Salad was a home run. Thanks to Eden's staff it was memorable. We will be back.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing