We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Banff Springs Hotel Quality Italian Restaurant”

Castello Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Castello Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
Description: Celebrate the simple pleasures of great food, wine and company with an authentic Italian meal at Castello Ristorante! The diverse regional flavours of modern Italian cuisine and showcased nightly with our seasonally inspired menu of deliciously shareable appetizers, hand-made pasta, ultra-thin pizza, and innovative rustic fare. Experience “La Dolce Vita” and the largest Italian wine collection in Banff at Castello Ristorante.
Saluda, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Banff Springs Hotel Quality Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Restaurants at the Banff Spring Hotel all serve fresh high quality meals. Castello serves a variety of delicious Italian entrées representative of many regions of Italy. My wife had Veal saltimbocca and she enjoyed very much. I has the tagliatelle with Fruti de mar (Seafood Pasta). The seafood was perfectly cooked and added to the pasta at plating time along with the sauce made using the seafood broth. The service is excellent. The only shortcoming is that it can become noisy if you sit near a group of people with a few too many drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrdinarymanSaluda_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for you feedback regarding your dining experience in Castello Ristorante here at The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. It was a delight to have you as our guest and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal! We are lucky to have so many delicious dining options from around the world and thrilled that you enjoyed our taste of Italy. We hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Bang average”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just eaten at Castellos. Very disappointed. Too many ingredients in dishes. Trying to make dishes sound better than they are. Keep things a bit more simple. I wouldn't eat there again if I returned to Banff. We have a chain in the Uk which is an Italian based restaurant called Zizzi's. I would eat there any day before Castellos and it would only cost £40 for 2 courses and a glass of wine not £100 which I just paid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your dining experience. I will certainly pass along your comments to our Culinary Team. With our new Executive Chef on board we will be doing a menu change shortly in Castello. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope that you try us again with our new menu launch.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Um um good”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wonderful entries and greater desserts!! This Italian restaurant is one of the best in town! The wine selection is impressive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daspokesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Castello Ristorante. We pride ourselves on authentic Italian Cuisine and are so glad you joined us for the Holiday Season!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I went to Castello Ristorante for our anniversary and we were glad we did! The restaurant is in a gazebo shape and is very quaint and charming inside. Perfect for special occasions! The waiter was extremely nice and acknowledged our special evening. The food that came was absolutely amazing and we loved everything that came from start to finish. At the end, he brought us each a glass of champagne on the house for the occasion. He was very personable and was talking to us a lot. We eat very late, so we were the only people left there that late. All in all, it was the perfect setting, with the perfect meal and over the top great service. Couldn't have picked a better spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dermop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your dining experience in Castello Ristorante. We are so pleased you decided to spend such a special occasion with us and we are glad we could make your anniversary a special one. Thank you again and we hope you visit from Argentina again soon.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prior lake mn
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cozy and tasty”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ate here while staying at the Fairmont and was very pleased. The setting is very cozy, tucked away in a turret like nook. Glass surrounds you allowing you to continue to take in the beautiful surroundings. Our waiter was attentive and helpful as he recommended a nice wine pairing with our meal. The apps were tasty and I really liked my risotto. Although not cheap, provided equal or better value with other similar priced restaurants we visited in Banff. Definitely on my list for next time and compares favorably with other Italian offerings I have had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the cozy surroundings of Castello Ristorante and thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience! We hope you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Ristorante also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Castello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing