We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great meal in an outstanding setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge

Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great meal in an outstanding setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I would describe this restaurant as fine dining.
Service was excellent and the menu choice was very good. We were a party of four, who were all pleased with our wmenu choices.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant and hopefully return there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    53
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was really looking forward to trying this place as it looked nice in photos on the internet and has some great reviews on this site. When we got there, I was happy I made the reservation! The restaurant is gorgeous, especially at Christmas time! Loved it! It is so "Banff", like a fairytale. The Christmas decorations were stunning and it is so cozy with the fireplace and comfortable surrounding lounge chairs where you can have a drink after dinner. (We shared a port and sat there until a large group arrived and spoiled our peace)! The food on the night we went was good, but not really amazing. Just nice. Would expect a bit better for the price and to make it a truly great experience. I can see, however, that it had potential to be better. Sometimes you just go to a restaurant and don't experience their best night. I think this was one of those times. I'd go back again though. Overall it was a pretty nice experience. The service was good. There weren't that many people there on the night we went, it is sort of out of the main restaurant area, which is nice. Very, very cute decor for Australians who don't see this type of place at home. A romantic place for couples and good for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food was tasty, though the quantity was a little lacking. Should have had an appetizer and more bread too. Service was a bit slow concerning the number of guests

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Falling_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NEW YEAR'S EVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The 5 course new year's eve dinner was scrumptious. We hosted 9 people and there was enough choice so that everyone had a great meal.The New Year's Day Brunch had a good variety of food and it was all fresh! The service was friendly and professional.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Once again we had an excellent meal. They have never disappointed us in 15 years . Wonderful food, presentation and staff. Thank you for helping us bring in a new year with style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank badgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing