We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Disappointing”
Review of The Banffshire Club - CLOSED

The Banffshire Club
Price range: $37 - $71
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the Castle is a hidden gem. The Banffshire Club showcases the crown jewel of Alberta cuisine - beef.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had the multicourse Christmas dinner at The Banffshire Club and were profoundly underwhelmed. It was a fine meal, to be sure, but absolutely nothing to write home about - nothing creative or particularly delicious. Just reasonably prepared, very safe, standard fare.

We had been on the waiting list all week, and were very much hoping to eat here, since we were staying at the Fairmont Banff Springs. We were very pleased when we got a last-minute reservation, only to be quite disappointed. For a $600 meal for two, one certainly expects quite a bit more.

I'm sure our experience the night before at Eden, at the Rimrock Resort, influenced this reaction. The multicourse meal at Eden was nothing short of spectacular, and essentially what we expect for this type of dining experience and price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandria Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at The Banffshire Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your dining experience. We are sorry to hear that your Dinner experience was not up to your expectations. We are always anxious to improve our high standards. We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided. Your comments will be passed along to both the service and culinary teams as we are always striving to improve.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill, nj
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An unpleasant experience.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs during Christmas week and we went to the Banffshire club for his birthday celebration towards the end of our trip. We had a fabulous experience at the Fairmont Banff Springs up to this point... When we walked into the Banffshire club, we fell in love with the ambience and the staff. The menu was priced according to courses: 3 course $75 and 5 course was $100 per person which we thought was reasonable for a nice restaurant. We picked the 5 course for the experience since we figured it's a special occasion. We were told that the 4th and 5th courses were the cheese (fromage dish) and dessert. However, the cheese dish was a measlely 3 pieces of cheese on a dish for the two of us to share - not worth the $$ at all. Furthermore, we overheard the waiter tell the table next to us that the cheese was complimentary on them that night. Then, to top it all off, we were charged for the cheest $16 on our bill when we had already paid for the "5 course dinner" which should have included it AND the table next to us had the dish as a complimentary gesture. There were also other small issues that made our experience unpleasant. Many items on the price fixed menu had "supplements" which ranged from $5 to $10 for the desired dishes which added a great deal to the price fixed menu. Also, we were offered sparkling or still water and we chose still water. The waiter kept pouring us the water without informing us that they were $10 per bottle. Overall, the whole experience was quite unpleasant and the food did not amaze us. They did have some splendid dishes, but even that was not worth the price. We travel a great deal and have experienced better for a much better value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at The Banffshire Club, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. A hotel representative will be contacting you shortly to discuss your experience further.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You haven't tasted food till you've tasted the Banffshire!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently visited the Banffshire club while in Banff. I truly believed that after I left the meal, that had really been the first time I had ever TRULY tasted what food should taste like. The service was excellent, our server, I believe her name was Becky, was extremely knowledgable on all the courses we received. We had a 5 course meal, paired along with ports, wines, and champagne, and it was by far the best meal I've had to date. I highly recommend the Banffshire club to anyone wishing to experience what food should really taste like.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadianforreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at The Banffshire Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your dining experience at The Banffshire Club. We will ensure we pass on these amazing comments to both the culinary and service teams. We hope to see you back again soon for another fabulous meal!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great meal but they should enforce a dress code - the next table of 10 golfers came straight from the golf club

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at The Banffshire Club, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting The Banffshire Club all the way from Australia! We are so happy that you enjoyed the delicious food. Hopefully you will get a chance to visit again!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Prepare to Step into Downton Abbey”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Banffshire Club obviously strives to preserve the class, culture, and ambiance of early 20th Century fine dining. This may appeal to some. My spouse and I were looking for a quality meal, and while the food was tasty, the experience was awkward at best. The dining room was sparsely populated, there was no background music, so we had to whisper unless we wanted the other two parties in the dining room to overhear our conversation. Our server was very nervous and seemed to still be learning the ropes. We passed on the over-priced champagne cart, but our drink choices seemed to be outside the norm for this place (beer and sparkling wine). Our entrees were not memorable, but dessert was good. Wish we would have returned to the restaurants downtown where the ambiance is younger and the food was even more delicious than the Banffshire Club.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at The Banffshire Club, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your dining experience. I am sorry to hear that your dinner experience did not meet your expectations. We are always anxious to improve our high standards. We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banffshire Club also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing