We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Melissa's Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm in Banff a lot for meetings and work. Out of numerous other restaurants I've tried for lunch in Banff, Melissa's works best for me. A pretty simple menu of standard breakfast and lunch items, some interesting burgers like the Joe Canadian, decent salads, steaks. Food is consistently better than ok, I'd say good. Portions are generous, always served hot. Prices are reasonable compared with similar-type restaurants I've experienced in town. Service is usually good, sometime better than others. This place has been around for many years and has some history, and the building is proof of that. As well as other restaurants in Banff, they employ many foreign traveling students so staff changes appear to be many. Window seating and patio deck have great mountain views.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    589
    218
    80
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for breakfast. Had good service . Friendly staff. Good price. Had the chorizo benny and enjoyed it quite a bit. Might have found my new breakfast place in Banff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Get the corned beef hash...”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Melissa's is my must stop Banff breakfast. Love the alpine feeling of the place, the staff is always wonderful and they have corned beef hash which is my favorite. It's a can't miss and much better than any hotel breakfast buffet. If you like well done comfort food, in a place where you're warmly welcomed this is it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunham, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A historic restaurant in Banff with superb quality and service. We have had great steaks here. The Eggs Benedict are the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel staff. We had a lovely brunch there. Even on a Sunday morning, the line wasn't too long. The service and cost were both good. Food was excellent! I'd definitely go there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing