We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Melissa's Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Awesome staff! Jack made us welcome and met our every need. The food was excellent and our group of up to 20 were served together. We had lunch 4 days in a row and the menu allowed us plenty of vatiety.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    590
    218
    80
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was great!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've heard of Melissa's but never been there. Won't make that mistake again. Had lunch on Saturday and breakfast on Monday at Melissa's. Service was great, food was good and the atmosphere was fantastic. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have eaten here for breakfast twice on two recent trips to Banff. Both times were were not overly impressed. The prices are average but the food is too. Our breakfasts were served quickly but the quality was not great. Hash browns were shredded not, actual potatoe chunks and they were lukewarm at best. The bread that they use for toast is fairly tasteless. Coffee was just drinkable. There are better breakfast options in Banff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast Stop”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped in for breakfast on a Sunday morning. There was a 20 min wait for a table for two but we expected that so put our name on the list and went out for a walk. I had the 'Mexican' breakfast. ( I can't remember the name.) and my friend had the 'Big Breakfast". I did enjoy the salsa in with the eggs and the hash-browns were also good. The "big breakfast" looked defiantly ample for it's size. (it wasn't finished). It has been quite a while since I'd been to Banff but it still seemed pricey for the quality. I might go back for dinner but there are certainly more restaurant to be tried in Banff so I probably won't be back for breakfast there for a while.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiedave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We attempted to eat here one night but it was fully booked. That was nobodys fault but our own as we hadn't booked. We felt the proprietor was offhand but booked for the following night as we liked the look of the place.We were disappointed however, as the atmosphere felt rushed and the staff tense. It was busy but customers should be made to feel welcome whatever! My husbands steak was tough, in fact he said it was the worst he had in Canada. We will not be eating there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing