We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Was served by a young man who was from Mexico origanly. Very helpful and polite really new how to serve. Food was lovely well cooked and enough. A bit expensive and costs $60 per head for two courses and a drink. Nice food!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    149
    65
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brrrr…”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The evening we went out for dinner to the Keg I wasn’t feeling to good.
When we arrived at the Keg we asked for the warmest place in the house, not near the emergency exit, not near the window, not near the fan or under the airco.
If where we were seated was the warmest place in the restaurant I do not want to even think what the other places must be like.
It was freezing.
We got up and left.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good but ...........”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked on a Saturday night, restaurant was very busy. We were a party of six. Everything about this place was very good but a bit on the expensive side. To start I had a salad with blue cheese dressing which was absolutely superb. My main was a ribeye steak which was probably one of the best steaks I have ever had. The other members of the party were also very pleased with their meals. So although a bit on the expensive side I suppose you get what you pay for and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible. Extremely poor managment.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Should have known better when we were able to get last-minute reservations for 8 people on a Saturday night... Service was horrible. Male server seemed put-out as if we were inconveniencing him by being there. Never had drink refills; had to ask for complementary bread; salads were warm and soggy; steaks (while not cooked properly) where fine but far from what you would expect for the price. Server never checked on us, nor did he ask if we enjoyed our meal. When we paid (by mastercard), we declined a tip as we had intended to leave it in cash. He was absolutley disgusted with us, snatched the machine away and left. It was shocking. We asked to speak to the manager and upon explaining the situation with our server and that we felt "disrespected" and explained that we would never visit this Keg location again, he replied, "cool, right on." Don't waste your time and your money. Avoid this location!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Junglefever1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a good meal as always at the keg. Restaurant did not take reservations, but even on a Saturday night, the wait was short.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigpappa0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing