We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had three different meals whilst i was there, and they were all good or excellent. The only problem was on Saturday, when it is busy, my steak was slightly overcooked. Popped in to the bar after our meals, the barman is very knowledgeable, and my friend who likes Martini's said it was the best he has ever had, and he has a few.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    135
    57
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good 'ol Keg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have now eaten in 3 different Kegs over the years and it's fair to say that they could have been the same place.
Solid steak menus, well cooked, plenty of it.
Good service, reasonably priced.

Boring and predictable, or tried, trusted and reliable?
Take yer pick, but they are consistently good if you're proper hungry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PumiceMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A typical Keg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a typical Keg. The food was good but nothing out of this world. It was very busy with lots of hustle and bustle. Great for family and friends especially of you have children.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Indifferent service
Rushed from appetiser to entree
Chef unable to cook steaks to requested - 2 attempts at 'medium', resulted in 2 medium rare steaks. Evening ruined other parties meal cold. Chef then had audacity to suggest via sever that we should ask for medium well steaks if we wished to have a steak to our liking... And even worse felt the need to walk through the restaurant to take a good look at us!!!
Where to start??
1) appetisers are called that for a reason ....entrees should follow not be presented whilst customers are still busy. So you want to finish your shift ...TOUGH!! You are being paid!It is your job!
2) as a chef in a so called steak restaurant, LEARN HOW TO COOK STEAK! Medium is 'pink' through NOT RAW IN THE MIDDLE. Here's a clue,, take a walk through the back and over the road to the SALTLIK STEAKHOUSE...they are so clear they put it on the menu outside!!
3) chef don't bully the service staff into covering your ineptitude. Our server agreed with us and returned the first steak to the kitchen. She then asked us to check the 2nd steak and immediately ( perhaps unwittingly) noted there was no improvement. She then later returned to inform us we had infant ordered incorrectly and the fault was ours not the kitchen...OH MY GOD..UNBELIEVABLE,
4) chef do not coincidentally walk through the restaurant to get a good look at the 'awkward customers'. I really hope the MD is reading this and acts accordingly!
5) to whomever was supposedly in charge...our evening was ruined... And yet we were presented with a bill for all items apart from the steak. Customer service would suggest some apology (none) or some recompense ...not at The Keg!
Enough said!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jacbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, typical Keg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Typical chain restaurant. Food was good, everything was typical like all other Keg's. Located inside a hotel. I personally would have opt'd for somewhere a little more "local".

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodeats77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing