We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Creative Southwest Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyotes Southwestern Grill

Coyotes Southwestern Grill
Ranked #16 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creative Southwest Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Coyotes looks non-descript from the outside. But once inside, it is a very welcoming restaurant. The hostess/waitress was terrific, and the manager was as pleasant as he was attentive. We had low expectations and came-up Coyotes because other restaurants were booked. But we found the food to be creative and whimsical, prepared by young chefs who were passionate about their craft. The food was terrific and we had a lot of fun. I've had a great deal of Southwestern food, but nothing like this. And in Banff of all places? The food was really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JesseIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    332
    86
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Food was wonderful - try the tenderloin, and veggie burger(I'm not a vegetarian, but even I liked it.). Waitress did a great job even through is was busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D24684K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
344 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Mouth watering!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here for lunch on Labor Day weekend. They were doing a brisk business, but I suspect they do just about any day, as their food is scrumptious!!
Everything is freshly prepared, and they had no problem making substitutions. I had the BEST quesadilla I've ever had...with green chiles and avocado - oh man, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Will definitely go back to Banff one day and hit this place more than once.
Service was friendly. It's a bit cramped in the dining area, but who cares when you're getting quality food like that? They had 2 tables on the sidewalk for people with dogs or who wanted sun, but it's not a luxurious patio by any means.
Makes me mad we wasted a dinner at Eddie Burger when this gem was right across the street.
They've been in business 20 years, and it's easy to see why. An off-the-main-street GEM!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Why not?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Southwestern menu in Banff? Great lunch menu. Tasty soups and sandwiches. Not like most of the pubs on Main St. Friendly and attentive staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthofDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Lunch...if You're Not in a Hurry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small place with delicious fresh lunches. Service is first class. Reasonably priced. A bit slow at noon crunch time, but what you'd expect for a tasty nicely served meal. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyotes Southwestern Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Coyotes Southwestern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing