We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“EAT HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyotes Southwestern Grill

Coyotes Southwestern Grill
Ranked #17 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Canadian, Gluten Free Options, Mexican, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent food and service. We were in Banff for a week and ate here three times. Best food and value we found.

Had dinner - corn bread basket (wish butter wasn't hard and cold), southwestern polenta entree and flank steak. All excellent. Great margaritas, too.

Breakfast (twice) - french toast is their thing - you can get it stuffed with cheese and canadian ham or berries and cream cheese (get one of each). We also had the pancakes and eggs with salmon. We ate breakfast at another restaurant in Banff before we found this place - for a dollar more a plate, you get so much more here. And of course, REAL butter and syrup.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    290
    79
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I always love Coyotes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good flavours, nice wine list. Always a favourite of mine when in Banff for any meal. The breakfast french toast is a huge favourite of my husbands. He would drive miles for this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stopped by this place a couple of times for lunch during my recent trip to Banff.
Great lunch menu. Chicken tortilla soup, pesto bruschetta, chicken pizza, salads all very nice and really nice atmosphere at lunchtimes.
Half decent cup of tea too.
Cost about $25/30 each time for a nice lunch for 2 people.

Definately go back here if I ever go back to Banff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PumiceMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal! Try it, you won't regret it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We're in Banff for three days for a little ski vacation. Don't know the restaurants. Picked Coyotes from the reviews on Trip Advisor for our supper on Sunday evening.
Wow, in a town full of ho-hum meals from chain restaurants Coyotes stands out like a brilliant diamond!
The menu is creative and interesting and the food is fabulous - delicious and meticulously prepared and presented. I had the Warm Shrimp and Goat Cheese Enchilladas and my husband had the Beef Tenderloin. Both were exquisitely presented. The beef was really tender and tasty and cooked perfectly to order with a really nice medley of grilled fresh vegetables. The Enchilladas did not skimp on the shrimps they were plentiful and delicious. With tasty rice and a lovely creative salad and really nice goat cheese.
We each had the house wine by the glass - me the premium white and my husband the premium red - both really really nice wines! Surprisingly nice, in fact.
The service was excellent as well. Attentive and friendly and knowledgeable.
What a find!!
Give Coyotes a try. I assure you that you will not regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpp_cep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My Kind of Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been at this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. Our nephew who was a cook at one of the other restaurants in town recommended this one as well. It can be difficult to get in as it is highly popular. This last time we went for breakfast and the only seats left were the bar stools by the cooks. Well mannered they greeted us and still maintained a fast pace in effort to get the meals out. Great food and the highlights were my wife's fresh orange juice and I mean fresh. They squeezed it right out of the orange. When I was finished breakfast the cook asked if I would try his seafood chowder he was making for lunch. It was great and I appreciated his generosity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyotes Southwestern Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Coyotes Southwestern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing