We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great breakfast & great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruno's Bar & Grill

Bruno's Bar & Grill
Ranked #52 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great breakfast & great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Large breakfasts very well done - kids menu. Friendly and fast service & provides take out all day. Great coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    86
    43
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Staff went out of their way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went to bruno's tonight after we decided not to go see a movie as it was too crowded.

My fiancée had a shepherds pie and I had a French onion soup.

When we got around to desserts I asked the server if they still had the fried Mars bar, as I had eaten there before and really liked it.

Our Scottish server Gav then told us that unfortunately, the owners changed and they no longer carry it on the menu, but offered to do them up for us if we brought our own Mars bars!

I ran over to Nester's, grabbed a couple Mars bars and handed them to the server.

We had our desserts within minutes and indulged ourselves!

I am sure they wouldn't do this for just every one, but we really appreciated his gesture.

Definitely the best service we had in Banff in years!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“very quick service if you are over the age of 30”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I cam in here for breakfast as I heard the food was good. When i came in I noticed i was the only person over the age of 30 in the place, so sat in a quiet corner. The service was stunningly fast as was the bill - I got the impression rightly or wrongly that they were happy to serve me, but didn't encourage my loitering. The breakfast was OK but i wouldn't rave about it, large portion of grits with bacon and eggs - toast already spread with margarine and a selection of jams etc. Coffee was good and hot - TVs on in the corner with sport if you want to watch. It's an OK place, but it's probably a young persons after ski place or a locals bar really

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy, just a small friendly bar, we enjoyed a couple of great breakfasts there. We also sampled the après ski special - beer and nachos, and one evening stayed on for the karaoke night, a great laugh!

Helpful?
2 Thank jimnychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Typical Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nothing special but nothing bad to say about it either. Little hole in the wall place. Their breakfast looked really good but we split a pulled pork sandwich and it was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bruno's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing