We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, great food, great service”
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 145 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic, great food, great service”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this place a bit my mistake, and I'm so glad we did. Service was very attentive from the moment we arrived, and atmosphere welcoming. Our server made some excellent wine and menu suggestions.
We opted for the Saganaki appetizer - a bit of fun as they light it at your table.
For the main, we shared the lamb platter. some of the BEST lamb I have ever had. It literally fell apart with the touch of a fork, and the multiple side dishes made for a nice sharing experience.
We were too full for dessert, and that rarely happens!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    326
    121
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Incredible Donairs or Gyros where I come from... Very Tasty food... We make the Balkan "a Must" stop for dinner wheneer we are in Banff. Food, Staff & Atmosphere are amazing!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Banff”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have made a tradition of eating at the Balkan Greek Restaurant whenever we are in Banff.
The food is outstanding and the staff make you feel comfortable and appreciated.
I have found that any of the dishes with Lamb in them are good. The flavour and tenderness of the meat is outstanding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpruceGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, we left feeling very full”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went to the Balkan for dinner on Saturday night. I made a reservation online for 7:30 PM. We were starving so tried to go earlier to see if they had space, but told us no, and to come back for 7:30. That's understandable, it was a busy night (and long weekend)!

We ordered the Saganaki fire starter which was fun (and not the least bit healthy). My husband had the Arni Psito which he enjoyed and I had a standard Chicken Hercules Sword (souvlaki and the usual accompaniments). Our meals were tasty and portions were fairly large.

It took a long time for me to flag down someone to bring additional tzatziki. since the meal only came with a small bit. Finally I asked a girl refilling water glasses if I could have some more (my husband was long finished his entree by then). Our waiter brought it and told us sorry, and that he had been busy running around like a chicken with his head cut off. Hire more wait staff????

Gourmet restaurants would never charge an additional fee for more sauce that accompanies an entree. I usually only see this happening for guacamole or sour cream, not a standard house sauce. This was mildly annoying.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K2013B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A relief from the excess...”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Maybe I just don't get it ? A spoilt European who finds that quantity is very different from quality , was very relieved to have a Horiatiki salad as it should be , fresh and simple . Had the arni kleftiko after which also was simple, tasty and delicious . Well done Balkan restaurant ... And pleasant , helpful staff too !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank naomieliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing