We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Popped in for lunch. We ordered their daily lunch special- $10.00. Tomatoe pepper soup and donair sandwich with salad. Great value and tasty lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    316
    115
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant was very good. The parking is relatively easy. The host was very effective with online reservations. The restaurant was clean. The food was very good with a diversified menu and a good wine list. However I preferred beer that night.
The service was quick. And the waitress wanted to insure that we were satisfied with everything.
The atmosphere is younger generation. Therefore it is a little more noisy, but not excessively. It is a place that feels alive.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants good food with an energic atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek food and atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a must if you are staying in Banff. Our only disappointment is that we had to leave food behind as we couldn't finish the meal but not for lack of trying. The Saganaki was superb, I had the calamari appetizer which was huge and perfection - served with Tzaziki sauce. My husband had a house specialty that was a lamb shank, braised 12 hours and as promised, falling off the bone, served with cucumber and tomato salad, rice pilaf and vegetables. Was able to order Prosecco by the glass and our server was right there when needed. Oh, and while we were trying to narrow down our selection for the evening, he brought bread with olive oil and balsamic to dip. No reservations as we'd just hit town but they got us in. Busy place but didn't impact service or receiving bar and food service in quick order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spencesgirlblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went went with another couple on the recommendation from hotel concierge. We were not disappointed! Both couples had the variety platter for two. Waaaay too much food, but very good. Service was prompt, especially considering how busy the were. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overall didn't match expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A family member had recommended this restaurant. It was booked out on the Saturday so returned on the Sunday when it was still busy. My sister is allergic to onions so asked the waiter whether her meal choice had any. He forgot first time (too busy) so asked again and the choice did have onions so she ordered the calamari. It came covered in onions! Service overall was disappointing and not what we had come to expect from other experiences in Canada.

However to be fair my slow cooked lamb was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing