We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Popped in for lunch. We ordered their daily lunch special- $10.00. Tomatoe pepper soup and donair sandwich with salad. Great value and tasty lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    270
    108
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant was very good. The parking is relatively easy. The host was very effective with online reservations. The restaurant was clean. The food was very good with a diversified menu and a good wine list. However I preferred beer that night.
The service was quick. And the waitress wanted to insure that we were satisfied with everything.
The atmosphere is younger generation. Therefore it is a little more noisy, but not excessively. It is a place that feels alive.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants good food with an energic atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek food and atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a must if you are staying in Banff. Our only disappointment is that we had to leave food behind as we couldn't finish the meal but not for lack of trying. The Saganaki was superb, I had the calamari appetizer which was huge and perfection - served with Tzaziki sauce. My husband had a house specialty that was a lamb shank, braised 12 hours and as promised, falling off the bone, served with cucumber and tomato salad, rice pilaf and vegetables. Was able to order Prosecco by the glass and our server was right there when needed. Oh, and while we were trying to narrow down our selection for the evening, he brought bread with olive oil and balsamic to dip. No reservations as we'd just hit town but they got us in. Busy place but didn't impact service or receiving bar and food service in quick order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spencesgirlblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went went with another couple on the recommendation from hotel concierge. We were not disappointed! Both couples had the variety platter for two. Waaaay too much food, but very good. Service was prompt, especially considering how busy the were. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overall didn't match expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A family member had recommended this restaurant. It was booked out on the Saturday so returned on the Sunday when it was still busy. My sister is allergic to onions so asked the waiter whether her meal choice had any. He forgot first time (too busy) so asked again and the choice did have onions so she ordered the calamari. It came covered in onions! Service overall was disappointing and not what we had come to expect from other experiences in Canada.

However to be fair my slow cooked lamb was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing