We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service is youthful”
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We loved the food & the show. Everything was wonderful. I would only suggest that the servers check in more frequently especially before the show. We would have taken dessert & coffee for the show but after the show we were tired so I suggest that the employees check in 5 minutes before so people 'stack up' before the show.

Very very good greek food and in Montreal we have lots of greeks so I know.

Enjoy Banff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 913 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

made a reservation for two before coming to Balkan on Thursday night, food was expensive but very good my hubby had the lamb for main and i had the charred pork ribs, balkan have great atmosphere and entertainment that night there was belly dancing and breaking plates. the service was ok it was very busy that night and our server forgot to run our main course after we had our starters but he was very nice to give us a freebie desert the baklava cheesecake and it was delicious all in all it was a great experience and we will be coming back for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank llein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was really expecting more of a true Greek dining experience at the Balkan especially considering the prices. What a disappointment!

The food was bland, uninspiring and overpriced. We had two entrees, two glasses of house wine, one dessert and a brandy... over $100. I expect that of a more culinary focused restaurant and unfortunately, I expected that of Balkan.

I have to say the ambience is nice but they do not serve Greek cuisine. They are to Greek what Olive Garden is to Italian.

Disappointed. Will not return and have already warned people against going there.

4  Thank AlphaTangoZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Balkan. We always aim to offer an authentic Greek culinary experience using a combination of our family' recipes and contemporary Greek cooking. We are proud to offer our guests Karlos' family recipes like 12 hour slow roasted Arni Psito, Lago Stifado, Yiayia's Lemon Half Chicken, Handrolled Dolmathes and Keftedes as well as daily housemade pitas. We just launched our new menu and hope you have the opportunity to try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We walked in and lucked into a table about 6:00 pm on a Thursday. The decor was modern and pleasing, the service was very good and attentive. We shared the beef and rice wrapped in grape leaves which was very tasty, if almost a little salty. My BH (Better half) had the pork chop for his main and it was cooked perfectly, I had the slow cooked lamb recommended by our server. The lamb was fall off the bone tender and very tasty and enough for 2 hungry people. The sides were well cooked if under seasoned somewhat. Generous portions didn't allow room for dessert and overall, the food was quite good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PrairieGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We dined at Balkan in Feb 2013. 2 adults and one teenager so the ambience wasn't high on the priority list. Food was good but a bit pricey for what you got. The Souvlaki was nice, the chicken ambrosia??? was apparently nice and whatever the 18 year old had disappeared, so i presume it was good as well. It is probably a place to eat at after 8 pm as the atmosphere when we were there was a bit bland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing