We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our favorite restaurant in Banff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I really like this restaurant. I like everything in this restaurant - design, entertainment for visitors and of course the food! On Thursday evening you have a great opportunity to not only enjoy a good atmosphere, but to take part in traditional Greek dance or belly dance! From the menu, I like many of the dishes, but our favorite dish - the lamb! Very tasty! Restaurant has very friendly staff willing to help with the selection and recommendation! Recomend to visit this place!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-almaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    281
    110
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Belly Dancing Greeks?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our second night in Banff. The range of food was very good. The service was friendly and we could have a laugh and a joke with the staff. I have to been to the Greek Islands quite a lot and also the Greek mainland, now my measure of a good Greek restaurant is the Saganaki. The one at the Balkan is very good. There is one thing though, as I have said, I have been to Greece quite a lot and have Greek friends, in all my visits I have never seen belly dancing and it has never come up in conversation - so I am not quite sure why the Balkan has belly dancing.

Helpful?
1 Thank MartynR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed our delicious flambeed saganaki! We have free live entertainment ever Tuesday and Thursday nights with professionally trained local bellydancers Balance Jamal and Meysa as well as some Greek dancing. You are correct that bellydancing originated in the middle east. In the 1920s during the mass migration of Greeks from Asia Minor this amazing dance was brought over to the mainland and integrated into modern Greek dance culture. Today it is known as Tsiftetelli and danced, not only by professionals, but. by men and women at many social and family gatherings. We just love to dance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Greek treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love holidaying in the Greek isles and found this restaurant to be a true taste of authentic Greece in snowy Banff. Fab, tasty dishes ( saganaki appetiser, Aubergine salad/dip) followed by giros and seafood saganaki. Delicious!
Great attentive service from the friendly, charismatic manager. Nice interior, can imagine large groups would be well accommodated as well as smaller parties.
Prices very reasonable... A real find and one of the best in Banff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Servers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went for a bday. Made a reservation and had to call and change the time and it was no problem. Food was great. Great drinks! Great server

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On our trip to ski at Banff we had a family dinner at the Balkan. We were there on a Thursday night which was a bonus. They had a belly dancer, restaurant patrons dancing, and of course traditional smashing of the plates. Our food and service where very good. The manager made sure everyone was having a good time and good food. I recommend getting a reservation as they are very busy. Thank you for making our evening enjoyable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mochingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing