We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy spot”
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Busy spot”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've eaten here many times while in Banff and always enjoyed the food. Our visit this time did not bring memorable feelings, but overall good. Friendly wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canukgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    334
    125
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome service, good prices”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were glad we made a reservation because the place was busy but right from entering the restaurant we were made to feel welcome and appreciated. We were seated immediately and our waiter took our drink order right away. We started with the seafood and mussel appetizer and it was fantastic. Then I had moussaka (my favourite) and it was the best I've ever had with greek salad. My husband had souvalaki skewers and also enjoyed his meal. The portions were substantial and we were too full for dessert. All in all. a fantastic meal for a very fair price. So glad we read Urban Spoon reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A tasty treat”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate by the bar, so I can't comment on the restaurant interior, but we certainly had plenty entertainment watching the cocktails being made!
The food was delicious, with generous helpings. As a coeliac, I had lots of choice, and was given a large plate of crudites to substitute for the pita bread with my starter.
I was also impressed to see one of the owners circulating to everyone to ensure they were enjoying their meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SW2inCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've been to this restaurant three times now and the only bad thing to say is that it can be quite noisy. But on the flip side, you know the food is excellent because it's busy. The service is professional and friendly. They cater for large groups easily as well as families with young children. The roast lamb is succulent and very moreish. I would highly recommend Balkan for anyone who likes good food!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dellmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Service was quick, the food was delicious, and the prices were reasonable for that kind of dining. Would happily eat there again. I recommend the platter special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dresdenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing