We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, lovely view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Bed & Breakfast

Riverside Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Riverside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
220 Bow Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely room, lovely view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here over the summer with our child. The good points were that we had 3 rooms to choose from, all with either an en-suite or bathroom next to them. If I remember one had its own lounge, the one we chose was at the front and had a balcony with a very nice river view, however a bath but no shower (the others did have showers but we preferred the balcony). Room was large and very nicely furnished. The owner was lovely, very helpful. Location pretty much in the centre of town right on the river, great for walking to the shops/restaurants. Things I was not too sure about was that we drove past a couple of times and missed the house as there was no B&B sign. There weren't locks on the doors which seemed odd. The breakfast was OK, but maybe could have done with some more variety, eg, hams/meats/cheeses/eggs etc. Was mainly cereals, bread & jam and some fruit. One day our room wasn't cleaned by the helper who said she thought the baby was asleep, not really sure why as we were out all day. The owner was apologetic though. All in all probably a 4 and an enjoyable stay, but now looking back at the price we paid - 150CAD pn and comparing to other B&Bs we stayed at in the region with their quality of service and breakfast I would say a 3.5, a bit on the expensive side.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PS_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were lucky enough to visit during a slow week so we were given the luxury of looking at all if the suites. There are two rooms at the front of the home that overlook the Bow River and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The first one is the smallest of the large rooms and has a private bathroom located across the hall. The second room is very large, has the nicest furniture, an ensuite with a clawfoot tub which is characteristic of this heritage home and a small private balcony. The bedroom in the back of the home has it's own sitting room that is seperate from the bedroom that has a pullout hide-a-bed couch and a private bathroom a few steps down the main hall. All of the rooms are located on the second floor, are nicely decorated and have many of the amazing features of a 100+ year old home. On the main floor there is a huge newly remodeled high end kitchen that you are free to store a few things in, grab ice, get a glass of water, etc... The owner of the home is very friendly, will treat you like family and make you feel very comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdblask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location is hard to beat in Banff. It is right beside the Bow River and a very short walk to the Blue Canoe rental shop. We went canoeing and then walked to some great bars and restaurants. This B &B is within walking distance to everything in downtown Banff. The owner is very nice and helpful with suggesting places to eat and things to do. Breakfast is self serve bagels, muffins, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Clean, quiet, warm and friendly.Continental breakfast could be any time and fresh fruit was always available.
Whilst visiting from the UK, my friend had to be emergency hospitalised in Banff with a heart problem.The owner did so much to help out and even spent time taking me to local beauty spots so that I saw some of this lovely region in the snow and sunshine.She really is a gem and so is this B/B..handy for the town and as it happens only a block from the local hospital!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fieldmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I spent my honeymoon at the riverside Bed and Breakfast and highly recommend it to any couple seeking an escape from the city. Quiet, clean, romantic rooms overlooking the bow river. owner and staff friendly and knowledgeable of area. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canukchris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

This beautiful character home is located across from the bow river - the views were spectacular and the location was right in the midst of restaurants, theatre and shopping. We had an extended stay in this location, we loved it! We were very comfortable, the rooms were a great size, the beds were very comfortable, it was clean and the owner and staff were very friendly and well informed of the area. We are so happy to have found such a gem in the heart of beautiful Banff!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The decor is great, breakfast was timely and delicious and the room was very well appointed.

I enjoyed the massive windows that gave us a great picture perfect river scene....I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rates are so worth it as Banff is expensive and our stay did not break the budget.

Location is wonderful...walking distance to everything!
Husband loved the place and he is usually very picky with B & B's. Hostess was super friendly and felt like we were in a house to ourselves!

Will be back again. Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 220 Bow Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#