We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good for price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast

CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Booked for 2-nites based on price/location. Were not disappointed based on this criteria. John was welcoming and entertaining. Wife is, by her admission, "a posessed baker", and had many baked goods at breakfast. Place is very clean!! Location is 2-blocks from downtown shopping and dining.
We had the cheapest room, in the basement, basic to say the least. Bathroom 20 feet away, which was fine. The only real problem here is no common area to hang out and read and relax, as owner occupy the main floor area to eat and ave TV on, loud.
Appears amny europeans stay here, we had France, Dutch and Swedes staying while we were there.
So, if you are looking for basic, good location and good price and breafast, but not atmosphere, then this works.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank k2kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We and several other family members spent Christmas here and had rented several rooms. We were not welcome to use the common room as advertised (we all had to cram into one of the guest rooms to socialize together) and actually felt rather unwelcome in general. It was much more like a European guest house or a hotel than a typical North American bed and breakfast, and was definitely not what we had expected.

The hosts weren't blatantly rude to us but definitely weren't overly friendly either. They were also very noisy early in the morning, and the shared bathroom was rather awkward and not always clean.

  • Liked — was within walking distance to some businesses
  • Disliked — hosts were not very friendly, not allowed to use the common room, noisy, shared bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank desertratSoAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The owners were warm and welcoming and helpful during the stay. The location is a few minutes walk from the main street, quiet and felt safe.

I seemed to be the only person paying to stay at the time, allowing me full run of the shared bathroom and free internet. The internet is a good edition to the place although the computer is rather slow, there is also a guest fridge on the ground level.

A perfeclty good place to stay, I've stayed in nicer places but much worse too, I'd say its slightly above average and would happily stay again.

  • Liked — Free net access and helpful owners
  • Disliked — A bit dark around the ground floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

My 3 nights at Casabanff were comfortable and breakfasts delicious. Other guests were interesting to talk to around the breakfast table...you don't usually get that in the big hotels!!Rooms were basic but clean. A bit dreary to spend too much time there but if it's just for sleeping and breakfast I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Room was a bit dreary and outside garden unkept.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Owners are loud with their TV and music - Also, tend to be very rude. The beds are extremely uncomfortable - the matress is 6 inch foam on wood slats.

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TroyDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

This is a great find in Banff, recommended by friends. Excellent price, made even better by the excellent breakfasts, as previous reviewers have mentioned, you won't leave hungry!! Really sets you up for the day with all the homemade food. Owners were lovely.Rooms are basic, but when you're using them as a base, then it doesn't matter, they were clean & comfortable. Lovely to be able to have a bath aswell!!

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
Thank madm00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My cousins and I just came back from Banff and we are so grateful about the experience staying in Casabanff B&B for six nights. First of all, both John and Magi (the host) are very kind, nice and passionate. At the moment when we checked in, we knew that we made a right choice. Both of them are very acquainted with the ways to have fun in Rockies. Following their suggestions, me and my cousins have a lot of fun there even without a car.

Staying in Casabanff, you definitely don't want to miss the wonderful breadfast prepared by Magi. Sometimes, we did not even know where to start because there are various choices on the table. We admire Magi's homemade Jelly , Muffins, pancakes, biscottis, cakes........so much. After breadfast, we never felt hungry before 3:00pm.

Having travelling around so many countries, I have to say that Casabanff is the most wonderful one in my personal B&B experience. If I have chance to visit Banff again in the future, I will definitely choose to go back Casabanff.

Tsuey-Ping Lee from Taiwan

  • Liked — the hosts, the breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PingTaichung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Good Nite's Rest
A Good Nite's Rest
#13 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast

Property: CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast
Address: Box 2875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing