We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Great hotel if you are looking at staying in Banff choose this hotel you won’t be disappointed.
The rooms.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was amazing, spotlessly clean and tidy, plenty of storage space, wall mounted plasma TV's upstairs in the lounge and downstairs in the bedroom, 2 big double beds downstairs and a sofa in the lounge that pulls out into a frame bed, a kitchen area fully equipped with microwave, sink, toaster, kettle, coffee peculator (free coffee is left in your room each day) and cups plates and cutlery, bathroom with a powerful shower and clean towels daily if you want them. The rooms were cleaned daily and were always spotless with free coffee and bathroom products left each day.
The hotel facilities.
The hot spring pool "wow" is what everyone says when they walk in it is great design with rock features and waterfalls, the pool is big enough for everyone to fit in and is great to relax in after a cold day on the mountains, there is a part of the pool that is a Jacuzzi and if you not quite hot enough there is even a sauna to cook you a little more. There are changing rooms and a shower so you can change and where you collect your towels from before going in the pool and is you are up a little exercise there is a fitness room with some cardio equipment and free weights for you to use. There is a guest laundry with coin operated washers and dryers that cost $2 and take about half hour to wash, a free underground heated car park , ski lockers, night vending machines and a computer and printer if you need it plus the hotel has free wi-fi all over.
The restaurant - Chilli's is the bar restaurant in the hotel and serves a full menu of good food at great prices, from my experience of other eating places around town it is probably the cheapest place in town for a restaurant meal. The bar area shows all kinds of sport throughout the day and is all table service. The restaurant is where the hotel provides the free breakfast for guests when you hand in a breakfast voucher given to you at check in, this is a buffet style layout with waffles, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, muffins and toast plus all the fruit juice, tea and coffee you can drink.
The staff.
All the staff are warm friendly and welcoming and do all they can to help you or provide you with information if there is anything you want or need, and there is a little army of porters who bring anything you want straight to your room.

The location.
The hotel is a five minute walk along Banff Ave to the shopping area and if you don’t feel like walking the hotel reception provides you with a free bus pass and there is stop right outside the door so you can get the bus into the town or up to the Banff hot springs or Sulphur mountain gondola, Banff Ave is the main road through Banff and can sometimes be a busy road but road noise cannot be heard from inside the hotel. For those of you who re going to ski all of the ski busses to take you to Mt Norquay, Sunshine and Lake Louise pick up from the hotel next door on a regular basis so you don’t have to go far and it is very convenient.

Overall this is a great hotel in a great town and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay here and will stay here again if I am lucky enough to travel back to Banff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nade20115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    716
    232
    99
    42
See reviews for
590
984
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is a high quality Hotel situated on Banff Avenue, the main street through Banff. It's about a 15 minute walk from the main shopping area. If you are skiing the ski bus stops at the hotel next door, very convenient. The large spa pool within the hotel was very nice after a days skiing. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

The rooms were very well furnished and high quality and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were at all times very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss - bathroom wasn't cleaned one day and they didn't leave spare toilet paper on another day.

Chilli's restaurant is situated within the hotel - they serve breakfast (residents only) and lunch and dinner. The lunch/dinner food is a bit like TGI Fridays in the UK and was quite good. The breakfasts were disappointing. The food served was OK but because of the lack of choice became a bit monotonous (and we were only there a week). Basically tea/coffee, diy waffles, toast, 3 types cereal, muffins, 2 types fruit juice, cold boiled eggs and some assorted tinned fruit and yoghurt. You have no option to even buy a cooked breakfast. I've had better breakfasts in one star hotels. To be fair to the staff, they did say a lot of people had commented on the breakfast and they were looking at ways to improve it.

Overall a very good hotel that I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sagereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo, bc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed two nights in a suite at The Fox when we were in Banff for a wedding. The suite included a living room with fireplace, a kitchen area, and a separate bedroom. The mountain view from the living room windows was inspiring. Everything was neat and clean, and there was a flat screen television in both the living room and in the bedroom. The heater in the living room was quite noisy when it was running, but we could not hear it in the bedroom as we closed the door at night. The heater in the bedroom (baseboard type) was absolutely quiet, and we slept very well on a comfortable bed. The bathroom was fairly small......definitely one person at a time, and the lighting at the vanity insufficient. There is a large hot tub in the centre of the hotel which is built as if in a cave, and it is open to the sky. We thoroughly enjoyed soaking and visiting down there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCSNanaimo_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey/hants/w.sussex borders
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were asked upon check in if we would like to be upgraded (naturally for small fee) and did so. V glad we did as we were given a 2 bed suite. King size bedroom for us and children had double bed each in their room. Two bathrooms but sinks outside of bathroom itself. Small kitchenette (with kettle, microwave, coffee filter machine, mugs, cups, cutlery, fridge though no hob) within small living room area. Flat Tv in all three rooms. Kids loved running down to hot pool every day and turning on jacuzzi. Had pool to ourselves for most part. Breakfast help yourself buffet and were able to make own waffles on their iron. Usual items as cereal, yog, fruit, muffins, toast. Sat beside log fire. Dinner Chili's had good value menu for kids. Also, in room delivery service from most restaurants in Banff - a directory is supplied in room. Safeway supermarket also short walk. We had young children and easily walked Main Street each day in height of winter and snow. Free underground parking great. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princessbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed January 10-14 in a courtyard one bedroom suite. Booking staff lead us to believe that the room was much large than the standard room however we found the suite to be very small. Previously we stayed at Charlton Cedar Court and found their suites twice the size. Hot tub/pool is really cool, however the novelty wares off fast given that it too is very small. Staff was extremely friendly, breakfast is a standard continental breakfast very similar to other hotels in the area; only difference is that it is in a nice restaurant setting. I would only recommend the one bedroom suite for small families or couples. Stay away from the standard room as it is way too small. Upon checkout in the early morning we waited 30 minutes for someone to return to the front desk to help us and he didn't seem to care that we had to wait for him....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

A group of us recently stayed in this hotel. I had a loft suite, it was quite large, and very nice. The main floor consisted of a sitting area with a table and 4 chairs, couch, easy chair, gas fireplace and balcony. The upstairs contained a king bed, dressing/wash area and a separate toilet/shower room. The others in our group all had regular rooms, they chose queen rooms which had a queen bed, small sofa and of course bathroom. The rooms were all very clean, very comfy beds. The regular rooms were not huge, but not small either.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk to downtown, and there is a free bus that picks up outside the hotel every 40 minutes that will take you anywhere in Banff you want to go, until 11 PM. There was a basic continental breakfast included.

The hot pool is located underground, and is cave like. It is very cool. The only draw back that I could find about this hotel is that this cave like pool has an opening in its roof, so sound reverberates up through this hole and into the courtyard. Even a small group in the pool making any amount of noise can be heard if your windows are open. This was pretty minor and only bothered us when we were trying to have an afternoon nap. The pool shuts at 11 PM so sleeping at night is not an issue. The heated underground parking is also an added bonus to this hotel. I have been to banff several times, and this is likely our new favourite spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FtSkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

I picked this hotel from the other reviews of tripadvisor and I confirm everything was said before. Clean and modern hotel, with a beautiful fireplace in the entrance, helpful staff and great facilities.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patpetruca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing