We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff has many options, the FOX is the best”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I've been staying at the FOX now just about once a month for approx 20 months or so... so it's time to write something I suppose. You have to understand, Banff and many beautiful hotels that you can pay 600 a night for no problem, and yes THEY ARE gorgeous. But the fox is different. It's the same class, without being pretentious like the expensive places. Gorgeous rooms no matter the room you're in, and it's exactly what you NEED in Banff.

And big fluffy Duvets! Hello!

In an effort to be balanced... I wanted to share a couple (and pretty much ONLY) dislikes about the FOX.. the elevator is SLOW! I like tohave the window open when I sleep, but because the windows are right by the walkways of the courtyard, it can be loud. And the last would be in the mornings with others checking out, walking with bags down the walkways it can be a little loud if you're trying to sleep in. But really... the rooms are so awesome I keep coming back again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in_banff_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great place, nicer rooms than the Banff Springs or Chateau Lake Louise. They gave my fiance and I a free upgrade to a one bedroom suite.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisIllini31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stay at the Banff Springs Hotel each year during this time and then go up to Jasper for a few days. On our way back, we spent one last night in Banff and picked the Fox Hotel & Suites because of what we read online.

The room was a one bedroom suite and it was awesome. It had lots of room, a kitchen and HD flat panel on the den wall and another in the bedroom. We're bringing the family to Banff in November and will be spending some nights at the Banff Springs Hotel and some at the Fox Hotel. We'll bring bathing suits, too, because the hot tub area (underground cave) looked fun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennesseeTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Excellent location, beautiful hotel and truly the most comfortable beds ever. Staff was very kind and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Offered an upgrade to a suit on arrival but declined & took standard double room. For 2 people this is more than adequate although nowhere to put suitcase in room. Spotlessly clean, very well equiped room, staff were very friendly & helpful. Stayed 4 nights and only once had problem with noise at 2.30am, people in pool despite "quiet time". Took a long time to be dealt with but it was sorted out. Food in Chilis was fine, breakfast was fine but by day 4 was getting a bit repetitive. Would def stay here again due to high standard of decor and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFSwaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Fox for 3 nights in September 09, and loved it. We had a superior 1 king bedroom suite on the third floor. It was plenty big, and the wireless internet worked great in the room. There was also a fridge, kitchen sink, microwave, coffee machine, and all of the essentials like silverware and bottle opener.

Everyone we met was very friendly, both staff and guests.
Just an easy short walk downtown. They will give you a free bus pass if you want it, but we just walked.

Great value as the parking, internet, and continental breakfast (including a make your own waffle station) was included in the room rate.

And of course the hot tub area is fantastic.

If we find ourselves in Banff again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed in the fox hotel and suites for two nights on our way through the rockies from vancvouver to calgary, we stayed in a premier room suite so i dont know what the other rooms are like. We thought the room was very clean and spacious , we had a balcony that was right above the main entrance , it was slightly noisy but not too much that would bother us, the room did get a bit hot but we just left the window open we never needed to use the air conditioning.The rooms were very quiet , in the 2 other hotels we had stayed in previously were noisy and you, could hear everything , the taps running and the shower, so we were glad that we got a good nights sleep! we had 2 lcd tvs, one in the living room and bedroom, and a kitchen area with a kettle, microwave, toaster and fridge, the hotel also provided tea towels and washing up liquid which saved us buying some. The breakfast as said in previous reviews was just really, waffles, cereal, and yougurt, toast etc. The hot pool was good, and it was open till 11pm, we went in late about 10.30pm and got it moslty to ourselves, the hotel provide towels to use when you are in the hot pool, and they provide lockers,the hotel has a laundry too but we never used it. We used the free wi fi provided and we had no problems, also we used the phone in the bedroom to make phone calls to relatives in canada which is 10 cents a min and back home to the uk for 20 cents a minute which we thought was really good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazaa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $123 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing