We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a place to come back any time”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed May 21, 2009

On a short trip to Canada we decided to spend a few days in the rockies. As a point
from where we could make short trips arround we were advised by friends to chose
Banff. Allthough we were warned that it is still skiing season and therefor accomodation
still could be a little more expensive, we checked the internet and found "The Fox".
when we arrived it was quickly very clear, the pictures shown in the internet showed the truth ( which not always happens ), even Peter ( the reception manager from the clip ) welcomed us. What the pictures could not show was the warm atmosphere in this nice
wooden building. Allthough it is a big hotel, you don´t see it from the outside.

The room we had was clever furnished and styled. So you din´t get the feeling that it
was a small ( hotel ) room, we felt very comfortable. The housekeping staff was friendly
and kept the room clean, and we mean clean.
Breakfast was with a great choice of cereals, cheese, jam, .... , so everybody could
serve his needs. We enjoied it. And the restaurant was a mixture of Sportsbar ( big flatscreen TV plus some small TV sets ) and Restaurant. For young people it is quite
nice, but we think, that older guests might feel uncomfortable. On the other side
Banff is a Sports city, so most guests will enjoy this atmosphere ( we did ).
The food in the restaurant was excellent, really really good, and the portions served
us completely ( and i can take a lot ).
The attraction of the hotel is the hot pool. Designed like a cave with a roof opening
to the outside. It is quite funny, sitting in the hot cave watching the snow falling.
A really relaxing situation.
Another very nice feature is the free of charge underground parking. When we were
in Banff, the end of April, it was still snowing, not that much, but how it would be in winter
time when it "is snowing" - every day the car searching game. So this helps guests
a lot to feel comfortable.
One thing to mention, when we told our friends where we go in Banff, they said that the
hotel is not in the center of Banff. Right, but Banff is not that big, so, within a
4-5 minutes walk you are in the center plus now you know where "Starbucks" is.

Whenever we come back to Banff, and this will happen, we will chose "The Fox" again,
we felt welcomed and served.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,861 - 1,867 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

Service - Fantastic, the employees were very friendly and accomodating.

Room - Beautiful. We thought we were getting a regular room but it was actually a one bedroom suite. It was a courtyard view, but you could still see the mountains. There was a fireplace, dining/kitchette area, living area with a great flat screen wall-mounted TV and also in the bedroom there was a flat screen wall mounted TV. The bed had tons of pillows and was so comfy! The bathroom was a little tiny but there was lots of space for our things. And I loved the shower!

Amenities - The Chilis Restaurant was excellent, probably the best Chilis we've had, way better than any in Calgary. The hot pool was amazing, definitly try it out! Although it's not very big and we found it got very crowded with young people drinking. I think this hotel needs another regular pool in order to accomodate everyone. The location is great, it's right on Banff Avenue and just a short walk to all the stores/shops, and nightlife. Also, the undergrond parking and wireless intenet was free which was a great bonus.

Overall we loved this hotel and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilovethebeach-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Great hotel. The staff are extremely approachable and friendly. The layout of the suite was fantastic and was very clean. Restaurant is accessible and the food was very good. Unique hot pool ... great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaLouAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We have been to Banff many of times, and out of all the places we have stayed this is by far our favorite! We have stayed here, I would say 4 times in the past 3 months. We have came with our kids and without our kids. We will 100% be back! The staff is friendly, food is great, rooms are roomy and the pool is amazing!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank warks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I have stayed in many hotels in Banff, although you can find some pretty good ones around, none are as good as the FOX! The pool makes this place unique but the atmosphere and decor makes it special! this hotel summarize what Banff is all about! I stayed with my wife in may 2009 for our 1 year anniversary and it was a great place, as well as a great deal!
Have a Margarita at Chillis, awesome!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

This hotel was really good, friendly people and really cosy. Loved the smell of the log fires. Would be fantastic in the winter. The hot pool was really good also. The reastaurant attached had nice food. Will defo go back

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeclairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

As consistent with most reviewers from before, my family and I were very impressed with the the Fox hotel & suites. We stayed one night on April 29th. Our original room was supposed to be a hotel room...but upon arrival the supervisor offered to upgrade to the courtyard one bedroom suite for an extra CAD25 for a total of CAD174 per night. Here's what you get in extra:

1) A kitchen with 4 settings of utensils and plates
2) Fridge and Microwave
3) Living room with a 32 inch plasma TV
4) Dinning room with 4 leather parson chairs and dinning table
5) A bedroom with separate door entrance
6) Double the size of the "hotel room"

So, it could have easily accomodated 4 adults. We were very impressed with the mix of contemporary and rustic furniture. Very tastefully executed.

A couple of minor annoyances were:

1) The automated fan in the living room was very noisy so we had to turn it off completely.
2) The bathroom was quite odd, as the countertop basin is located separately from the toilet and bath tub. A door separates the toilet and bathtub making it feels quite cramped.
3) The window in the bedroom couldn't close completeness leaving a small crack. So we can hear the outside traffic and kept leaking cold air in.

I think for the money we paid, the level of amenities and services, we were extremely pleased. I think you would too. It is definitely #1 for a reason.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank TheTruth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $123 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing