We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon starter.”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Honeymoon starter.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and enjoyed the suite room we had and the breakfast great. We were able to wander down the main street to all the sights and we could see the Rockies from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groves97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    743
    238
    101
    43
See reviews for
611
1,005
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Fox. There was no AC in the room, and the bathroom exhaust fan did not work - it was impossible to get any airflow. The room was 85 degrees F when we checked in. By using a floor fan and leaving the outer door open, I got it down to 78 by bed time. The room was probably the smallest we have ever stayed in.

The advertised guest laundry was misleading -- there was one clothes washer for the entire hotel. (A second was out of service, and no one could say when it would be repaired, or when it was called in.)

The complimentary breakfast at Chili's was nice, but the first time we've seen a buffet without any sort of eggs, potatoes, or meat.

The complimentary local bus pass was a nice touch.

We don't know if this is typical for Banff, but we would not stay at the Fox again, and cannot recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was part of a block booking for a wedding. This was our first time here and quite likely the last. On the positive side, the people at the front desk were very friendly and efficient on the check in and check out process.
The hotel also has a Chili's restaurant on the premises for the complimentary breakfast included in the room rate (we weren't aware of this until checking in).
We checked in, left for the wedding and returned to our room after midnight. The room was very hot and stuffy and the small window that opened provided none of the fresh mountain air that is typical in Banff... the fan in the room should have been the give-away however all it did was move around hot, stuffy air. The thermostat on the wall would not turn on the fan and, as I found out in the morning... the room had NO AIRCONDITIONING. Thus, the 24 degree temperature in the room and no relief... and what can you do at 12:30 am??? Apparently, only the suites have air conditioning and I was supposed to know this from the room descriptions on the website... might have been useful to know when booking as I did this by phone to get a room through the block booking. Therefore the sleep quality was virtually non existent.
And there were people in the inside open atrium (might have been going between rooms) until 3 am.... not rowdy but noisy.
On checking out... front desk response was polite and indicated:
1) I should have known there was no air conditioning
2) I should have phoned down about the temperature at 12:30 am and maybe they could have moved us....?
3) I should have phoned security about the noise.
All of a sudden, this is my problem... I don't think so. They made an adjustment to the room rate by reducing it by 20% which was a reasonable gesture. Not enough for me to return.

Room Tip: IF you stay here... get a room with windows that open onto the back or the street, not the atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not appeased by our gesture to reduce your room rate by 20%. We would have appreciated the opportunity to help you with your issues. When given the opportunity, we will always do our very best to rectify any problems. Unfortunately you did not make us aware, and therefore we could not help you.

Our front desk is staffed 24/7 and we are here for YOU! Kindly call us at any hour should you need anything at all. Providing service to our guests is what we are here for. Never hesitate to let us know if you are uncomfortable, being disturbed by others etc. We will do our best to ensure your stay is a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The Fox staff was pleasant and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite because it was my birthday (we had air-conditioning). We did not rent a car and the staff gave us complimentary bus tokens. The suite was clean and spacious. It was stocked with plenty of towels, utensils, and pillows. Always love free wifi! The complimentary breakfast was fine for us, simple and healthy with hard-boiled eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and DIY waffles (kinda fun). We wished our room had some outdoor seating, but improvised by bringing our kitchen chairs just outside the entrance. From our make-shift balcony, we enjoyed wine and chatted with our fellow Fox residents, along with receiving a few strange looks. We would definitely stay at the Fox again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paisley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Good, The overall structure is very rustic and beautiful, The restaurant and bar and lobby are great, The staff are fantastic, We stayed in a suite with Fridge, Microwave and Two TVs, Parking is fantastic and included, Good location, bit of a walk to downtown Banff.

The Not so good. For $400 a night we did have AC in the Living room of the Suite but Not in the Bedroom which got hot even with the AC blasting all night and the bedroom door open.

The only washroom is an ensuite and if you have anyone sleeping on the pullout they can only access the washroom thru the master bedroom. Seems like it would make more sense to access the washroom from the hall.

Another strange thing is that the shower only has the short decorative cloth curtain and not the inner waterproof longer curtain that usually accompanies it.

Does not have a pool but does have a large fake cave whirlpool that a lot of people seem to like, Would be great in the winter.

Breakfast is great but no eggs, bacon, sausages or potatoes

So, is it worth $400 a night? Maybe 1 night but we were there for 4 so I'am not so sure,( but it was full)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our honeymoon. Banff was the first stop on our tour. This hotel, although it is slightly out of the centre is a perfect location. It was a quieter hotel due to it not being in the centre and the walk into town is only 5-10 minutes and quite a relaxing stroll too. The room was brilliant and very homely and the staff were very hospitable.

On the first night we decided to eat at the restaurant for convenience. The food was amazing and I would definitely recommend eating here, even if you are not a hotel guest. Breakfast is as good as dinner, best waffles ever!

To anyone who is thinking of visit Banff...do it and stay at this hotel! I can't understand why it is only rated number 5 in Banff on here!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient for walking into the town of Banff. The underground garage with direct hotel access is very convenient. Rooms well appointed and the kitchenette is a plus. We had some difficulty in adjusting the temperature between the living area and bedroom. A bit pricey but it is Banff in August

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing