We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“JDP16” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“JDP16”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's a bit of a walk into town-maybe 15 minutes-but the hotel supplies a free bus pass for the town's comprehensive system. Our room was on two levels,the bedroom and bathroom on the upper floor. Air con kept the lower level cool but the upper level became quit warm especially after a shower. The room was very well equipped-TV, microwave, sink, fridge, settee, eating area to name a few- with a balcony overlooking the road. There was a cooling system out back yet we heard hardly any noise. The bed was king size and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate size. Housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast was included and the choice was a hot/cold buffet with plenty of choice. Replenishing of coffee was a little tardy and I had to go chase a refill.There is ample underground parking but beware when entering as it is two-way and going from dazzling sunshine into sudden gloom requires care. The staff were friendly and very helpful, allowing us to use the pool facility to freshen up in mid afternoon before departing. The price was reasonable and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    689
    219
    95
    41
See reviews for
569
950
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for four nights in the peak of July in a two level suit. Glad we had air conditioning as it was exceptionally hot. The room was very quaint and had a lot of character which made it stand out from other accommodation we stayed in. It felt very homely. The hotel provides bus vouchers to go along to the main part of town and back but to be we chose to walk which takes about 10 minutes.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gargoil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for ourselves and our children (10 and 8) for a 4 night stay in July 2014. The suite had a huge king sized bed in one room and 2 doubles in the other. There were 2 full sized bathrooms and a kitchenette area with microwave, fridge, sink, kettle and coffee maker, with a table for 4 and a lounge area. The room was very clean and well appointed.
The air con worked well in the lounge but not in the bedrooms. We spoke to the receptionist about this and he told us that this is how the air con was originally set up in the rooms and accepted that it is a flaw of the rooms. Although we were in the middle of a heat wave, we slept fine with the windows and bedroom doors open and the air on in sitting room, despite some road/train noise.
The continental breakfast was fine, fruit and pastries and the children loved making their own waffles every morning.
10 minute walk into town along Banff Ave and on site free parking in the basement. Hot pool was very hot but fun.
We felt it was reasonably priced and a great base for exploring the Banff area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieandRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I chose the Fox based on reviews from this site. It was a comfortable suite in a convenient location staffed by friendly people. The price (which i thought was quite reasonable) included free parking, free wi-fi, free bus passes and also a buffet breakfast. A Chili's restaurant is located in the hotel so you didn't have to go far to eat or drink if you didn't want to. There was also a fridge, toaster, microwave, utensils and dishes in the suite. I'd go back to The Fox again and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Situated, about 10 minutes walk to town centre, towards the end of the main Banff thoroughfare the Fox Inn is a very attractive lodge built over some hot springs, which are available for guests to use. The staff here were helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was, in fact, a small suite with its own kitchenette facilities, lounge area, bathroom and bedroom. We found it very useful to have fridge to store picnic food and cold water overnight in preparation for our sightseeing trips. The restaurant, which also served as a bar served wholesome and tasty food in a very casual atmosphere. We were impressed. Breakfast was good, and included a do-it-yourself waffle maker. The hotel also provided safe underground parking, and free internet access. Overall we found this hotel more than lived up to expectations and would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jotheringman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose the Fox as our base to explore the Rockies as a result of very good reviews on TA. Our first impression was extremely favourable as the receptionist helpfully pointed out that i had booked a suite with two bedrooms- and we were obviously a couple- amazingly she offered us an alternative, which And we saved $200 a night - so its not cheap and it was at the hight of the summer!
The alternative suite was a duplex with its own balcony ,kitchenette, and downstairs lounge area.
Upstairs was a large bed and very small bathroom-Comfortable and clean, but unfortunately the air conditioning was rather noisy and whilst highly effective downstairs, failed to cool the bedroom area. We were there in July and it was extremely hot - so our nights could have been more comfortable.
The much vaunted hot spring pool i personally found a bit murky and the hotels policy of closing the bar at 11pm seemed to rather strange. But this is a good choice if you like a tranquil environment

But i must ay that all the staff were fantastically friendly and helpful -and at the end of the day, it is the way you are treated in hotels that makes all the difference-

Room Tip: Make sure room has a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped here for three nights. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room,although small, was lovely and we were only in it long enough to sleep. The on site restaurant 'Chillis' is very reasonable and the food was very good.
Continental breakfast was great and there was always plenty of everything.
We didn't use the fitness room or the spa pool but it looked lovely. We would return to The Fox if we were back in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeLanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing